March In Review


Wow, I can’t believe how quickly the first three months of the year has gone by.  More importantly, we are less than 12 weeks away before the baby’s arrival!  I’ve made quite a bit of progress here at home getting everything ready, I just have a few more projects that I need to get finished before the end of June.

This March, it seemed like I didn’t read as much, with last night’s completion of Sun-Tzu’s The Art of War, I completed 5 books in March, for a grand total of 18 for the year.  This month I read these books:

Also in March, I decided to join up in The Classics Club, a classics reading project that Jillian, over at A Room of One’s Own.  I put together a list of 103 classics to read, which you can view my selections here.  Three of the books I read in March were included on that list, which leaves me with 100 to go.

For April, I’m looking at reading Aristotle’s The Metaphysics which I will be reading with a co-worker of mine to discuss during our lunch periods at the office.  I will also be reading Kat Richardson’s Greywalker, a book chosen by my sister for all of us to read in our reading group.  I will also continue participating in a read-along with Bleak House.  I seem to be enjoying it for the most part.  There are some parts of the book that I wish weren’t as descriptive, but with it being so rich in detail, you’re definitely not missing anything.

Aside from those books, I really don’t have too many solid reading plans.  I’ve truly enjoyed reading without any set plans this year, and can be open to read whatever, unlike last year at this time, where I was pretty much set on reading Marx’s Capital and other heavy reading endeavors.

What do you have on tap for reading?  What have your recently finished?

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

12 Responses to “March In Review”

  1. great MARCH in the battle of books!!!

  2. I’m going to (try) to read Richardson’s Clarissa this month. 🙂

    • I saw the read-along for it. Wish I could participate, but I’ve got so many other books occupying my time and a few things outside of reading. I can’t wait to hear what you think of it!

  3. Melissa @ Swamp of Boredom Reply April 1, 2012 at 2:44 pm

    I recently finished Great Expectations and Elegy for Eddie by Jacqueline Winspear. I’m reading Guns, Germs and Steel (struggling), Far From the Madding Crowd by Thomas Hardy (enjoying) and just downloaded an audio book of Moby Dick to listen to while I walk my dog. I’m trying to get that one out of the way in my Classics Club list ASAP!

    Twelve weeks until a baby? Great news! It’s a great time, despite the fact you get very little sleep.

    • I’ve been eyeing Guns, Germs and Steel for quite some time, but haven’t actually gotten around to reading it yet. I’m going to try my hand at Moby Dick again. The last time I tried to read it, I had to stop because I simply didn’t enjoy the writing style. I must be a glutton for punishment since it’s on my Classics Club list as well. I’m hoping to have better luck with it the second time around.

      Yeah, my wife keeps on telling me my life is going to be rocked in ways I can’t quite fathom yet. We already get very little sleep now, but I suppose that’s practice for the real deal! Thanks for dropping by!

  4. I continue working on my TBR stacks and review books, but somehow can’t resist downloading books for my Kindle!

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST

  5. Looking forward to hearing your thoughts on The Art of War. I’ve been meaning to pick that up for some time now.

    I also joined The Classics Club this month. I’m really going to enjoy making my way through the list. I only signed up for 50, though, as I’m a wimp.

    • Hi Rob,

      I should have my post on The Art of War shortly, I’m a little behind with my blogging this week!

      50 classics isn’t anything to sneeze at, and I may be stretching my limit with 103, but we’ll see! Thanks for dropping by!

  6. I am slowly getting back into the habbit of reading after a haitus of 7 years. I finally actually finished a book, something I have been meaning to do for so long.
    Jermey, your comments and blog are an inspiration. I am going to join you in the reading of Metaphysics and hopefully we can have an open discussion here.

    • Thanks so much! 🙂 I’d be more than happy to have an open discussion about The Metaphysics! I’ll be posting some thoughts on it soon! Thanks for dropping by!

Leave a Reply

