My Thoughts On George Orwell’s Animal Farm


Last weekend, I completed my reading of George Orwell’s Animal Farm.  In Animal Farm we have a story of how animals take over their farm, Manor Farm, from their tyrannical owner Mr. Jones.  After they successfully drive Mr. Jones from the farm, the story tells of how the animals, led by the pigs Snowball and Napoleon, form their new “world” order.

I loved how Orwell wrote this satirical novel.  It was very enjoyable to read, and I definitely wanted to know how the farm would develop with each animal having an “equal” stake in everything.  I also really liked how they established seven laws of “animalism” on how each animal was to be treated on the farm.  But as things progressed in the book, I could definitely see how one group of animals was becoming more tyrannical than others and granting themselves certain privileges.  The end didn’t really surprise me, especially when you’re talking about revolutions, on how the most powerful of the revolutionaries become masters of all by assuming all the power.  Just exchanging one form of totalitarianism for another.

I felt the book was well written and I couldn’t believe how quick of a read it was.  I definitely saw how the concepts in Animal Farm could be applied to today’s world, especially when we’re seeing some revolutions in the Middle East occurring over the last year and some change.  I also feel that Animal Farm does a very good job of demonstrating the ills of totalitarianism and how it’s something that should be feared.

I truly enjoyed reading Animal Farm and I can’t wait until I tackle my next work by George Orwell, 1984.  If you’ve read Animal Farm, I’d love to hear what you thought of it.

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

12 Responses to “My Thoughts On George Orwell’s Animal Farm”

  1. Animal Farm is a great book, and one that is still used a lot in schools – it often captures a lot of the students’ imaginations. I must say though, for me 1984 was Orwell’s greatest work! 🙂

    • I’m looking forward to reading 1984. I’ve heard wonderful things about it. I’m glad Animal Farm is still used in schools. I know when I was in high school, there were some classes that were reading it, but none of my English classes required me to read it, which I was kind of disappointed about at the time. I’m glad I took the time to read it. Thanks for dropping by!

  2. I quite enjoyed the book; one my favourites that I read as part of a English class, but my ultimate favourite was A Tale of Two Cities.

    • Just the other day I downloaded a free version of A Tale of Two Cities on my Kindle. I’m looking forward to reading it, but I probably won’t tackle it until I finish Bleak House. Thanks for dropping by!

  3. It’s been quite a while since I read Animal Farm, but I do remember liking it. However, I’m with theotherwatson in that I think 1984 was Orwell’s greatest work.

    • 1984 is on my Classics Club reading list, and I’m hoping to get to it shortly. After I read Atlas Shrugged I really began seriously thinking about reading Orwell. I’ve definitely enjoyed what I’ve seen so far, so I’m looking forward to much of the same.

  4. Amritorupa Kanjilal Reply March 26, 2012 at 5:45 am

    Orwell has the gift of inducing terror by using extremely weird situations… You’ll see when you read 1984.
    Though I am not a fan of extreme rightist literature, I do love 1984 and Animal Farm, because of the use of Allegory and the awesome storytelling.

    First time on your blog, Jeremy, and I loved it totally. You have awesome taste in books. Following you now!
    Please visit my book blog at http://www.facebook.com/RiversIHaveKnown
    Its fairly new, but it’s growing!
    If you like the blog, please follow. It would be awesome to have you as a reader!
    Thanks

    • Hi! I’m definitely looking forward to reading 1984. I did enjoy the allegory in Animal Farm and am looking forward to the same with 1984 Thanks for the visit and the follow, and I’m on my way to check out your blog now!

  5. Glad, you liked the book. I just have to say once again that I am shocked that it took you so long to read this book. It is safe to say that I know you better then most 🙂 and from that Orwell’s book was right up your alley. Reading this with you was the second time I had read this book, but due to the length of time since the first read it was like reading it again. I have started to read 1984, have not read enough of it to be sure that I am going to like it or not; there are just so many other things that I have slated to read that I am not sure when I am going to get to it.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. March In Review | Beltwayliterature - April 1, 2012

    […] George Orwell’s Animal Farm […]

Leave a Reply

