My Thoughts On Michael Crichton’s Prey


A week ago, I completed my reading of Michael Crichton’s Prey.  As I mentioned previously, Prey was my brother’s choice for our reading group that includes my sister.  Prey is a book that’s awfully heavy on scientific details, and I think that’s the case for a couple of reasons, which I’ll get to in a moment.  But Prey is very much like your typical Michael Crichton book, a very quick read, without too much depth to the plot.

In Prey, we learn about John Forman, an unemployed  stay-at-home dad, who’s been having some issues, not only finding work, but, as he finds out, with his wife and her suspicious activities.  John’s wife, Julia, is a VP of a major technology company that’s trying to make a major breakthrough in the area of nanotechnology.  She’s been working late, not keeping in touch with John, and her behavior has been erratic.  These new behaviors has triggered John into some sort of action, when his old company wants to hire him back to help his wife’s company with solving a coding problem for these little pieces of technology.

What ensues is John discovering what ultimately is the issue with the nanotechnology.  I won’t give away any of the plot details, but, as I mentioned above, it’s awfully heavy on scientific principles.  How nanotechnology is supposed to work, and some areas of the coding of this technology.  I understand that the detailed scientific descriptions were needed for the climax of the novel, but I wasn’t expecting it to be nearly as in-depth with those details, as opposed to any actual real character development.  The plot was also razor-thin, in my opinion, and it could’ve used some additional depth, at least to show that there was as much commitment to that as to the depth Crichton went into for the scientific portion of the book.

Overall, though, it’s your typical Michael Crichton book, something that’s ok to check out from the library, but not worth a re-read.  I do know my brother quite enjoyed the book, my sister less so than myself.  But, part of this reading group we formed was to read books we probably haven’t heard of nor wouldn’t have read otherwise, to broaden our horizons, so from that avenue, I’m glad to have  been exposed to Michael Crichton again.  If you enjoy Michael Crichton, I don’t think you’ll be disappointed.  If you’ve read Prey, I’d love to hear your thoughts!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. March In Review | Beltwayliterature - April 1, 2012

    […] Michael Crichton’s Prey […]

Leave a Reply

