My Classics Club List In More Detail


As I mentioned the other day in my post here, I put together a list of 103 books to read over the next five years.  I wanted to take a moment to talk about the list in a bit more detail and part of my reasons for participating.

One of the reasons I’m participating is because a lot of the books on my list I planned on reading in the first place.  Books such as Animal FarmJane Eyre, and Adventures of Huckleberry Finn.  Another reason I’m participating is to challenge myself to read works I wouldn’t ordinarily read.  There are several books on the list which I may not have considered tackling previously until Jillian decided to host this effort.

Works that I’m really looking forward to tackling during this five year time period are Eliot’s Middlemarch, Hamsun’s Hunger, Mitchell’s Gone With The Wind, and James’s The Portrait of a Lady.  I’m looking forward to many others, but these stand out to me immediately.

I understand my list is rather daunting, I mean, let’s take for example, I have Joyce’s Ulysses and Hobbes’s Leviathan on my list.  These  two titles aren’t exactly easy to tackle.  And let’s not forget one of the longest books on my list, Gibbons’s The History of the Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire.  I’m not talking about tackling the abridged version here, I’m talking about the complete unabridged three volume version.  It’s to the tune of 3,000+ pages, along the lines of Foote’s Civil War Narrative that I tackled three years ago.  My knowledge of Roman history is something that’s not very strong, so I’m truly looking forward to getting to that work sometime in the near future.

As I’ve mentioned several times over the past few weeks, I may be biting off more than I can chew, with my first child on the way, but I’m still hoping to be able to find some time to read.  This goal is noble, but I also realize, I may not be able to complete every book on this list by March 9, 2017.  If I don’t, I don’t think I’ll lose too much sleep over it.  If I do, my reward will be the satisfaction that I’ve been exposed to many authors and works that I haven’t experienced before.  I’ll also have the privilege of discussing these works with others that are participating.

Another thing about the list that I want to mention, is that these books are written in stone.  As I tackled these books, I may come across others that I may want to read and may serve as replacements.  This list, by no means, will allow me to have tunnel vision, it’s a living breathing list.  By keeping it that way, from the very beginning, I won’t feel completely locked in.  Mainly, I’m looking forward to some fantastic reading and learning quite a bit.  If you’re interested more in Jillian’s Classics Club, be sure to take a look at the sign up post here.

I’d love to hear what you think of my list.  Do you think it’s Mission Impossible?

How has your week been?  What have you been reading this week?  Anything interesting for the upcoming week?

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

8 Responses to “My Classics Club List In More Detail”

  1. Absolutely it is an impossible mission, especially with a child on the way. You aren’t even going to have time to breathe, my man, let alone read 103 books! 😛

    And wait, are these books written in stone or aren’t they? I’m a little confused on that. 🙂

    • You’re probably right. 😛 But I figured I’d at least make the attempt. We’ll definitely see though!

      Well, some of the books may have originally been written in stone! 😀 I suppose I should go get a piece of stone, a hammer, and a chisel! 😛

  2. I read Animal Farm a long, long, long…okay, a really long time ago. lol

    The same is true of Gone with the Wind, but recently I bought a copy and I’m planning a reread this year. Wonder what I’ll think of it now?

    Thanks for visiting my blog…and enjoy your foray into the classics.

    • Animal Farm was a very quick read for me, I managed to finish it in one sitting! I definitely enjoyed it and the allegory that Orwell used throughout the book. I also think a lot of the concepts Orwell was discussing are perfectly valid in today’s culture.

  3. Not impossible, but not easy, either. As soon as I assign myself a list of books to read, I want to read something else, so if you don’t have to deal with that sort of rebellion, you should manage eventually! 🙂 -Burgandy Ice

  4. I am going to do the classics challenge as well, just have to get the list together, which I am going to do tomorrow…

    Hope you had a relaxing Sunday.

    Here is my post: http://jaynesbooks.blogspot.com/2012/03/sunday-salon-groggy-week.html

    • I had some help generating my list. I ended up downloading the Penguin Classics complete listing of classics they publish. That’s where the majority of these choices came from. Thanks for dropping by!

Leave a Reply

