Now Reading George Orwell’s Animal Farm


I definitely feel like I’m a very busy beaver these days with my reading.  While I was at the library picking up my last book, Michael Crichton’s Prey, I also picked up a copy of George Orwell’s Animal Farm.  Animal Farm has been on my to be read list for several years now, and as part of my effort to read more books off the top of my to be read shelf, I decided now would be a good time to tackle it.  This book is also one that I’ve listed in my Classics Club list of 103, which, if you haven’t checked it out yet, read more here.  Since we finished Prey in a reading club my brother and sister are in with me, I thought I would also have them read Animal Farm with me.

As I mentioned, I checked out the paperback version from the library, and here’s a quick synopsis of what the book is about:

In his story of a downtrodden society of overworked, mistreated animals and their quest to create a paradise of progress, justice, and quality, George Orwell gave us one of the most scathing satiric fables ever written.  As ferociously fresh as it was more than a half century ago, Animal Farm is a parable about would-be liberators everywhere.  As we witness the rise and bloody fall of the revolutionary animals through the lens of our own history, we see the seeds of totalitarianism in the most idealistic organizations; and in our most charismatic leaders, the souls of our cruelest oppressors.

I’m looking forward to reading my first work by Orwell, and I certainly hope to have a great discussion about it with my brother and sister.  If you’ve read Animal Farm, I’d love to hear what you thought!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

4 Responses to “Now Reading George Orwell’s Animal Farm”

  1. I read 1984 not that long ago, and I have to say, I liked Animal Farm a lot more than 1984. But then I also read it….6 years ago? I would like to reread it soon, but I think you’ll enjoy it!

    • Hi Samantha!

      1984 is on my list to read as well! I didn’t have the privilege of reading either books by Orwell either in high school or college. I’m hoping to get to 1984 fairly soon! I finished reading Animal Farm the other day and I hope to have a post up in the next day or so about it!

  2. I read it almost 2 decades ago and I quite enjoyed it, especially once I understood the parodies. Its an interesting read and I hope you enjoy it.

    • Yeah, the allegory and parodies are rampant throughout the book. I truly enjoyed reading the story and see how it can even be applied today. Thanks for dropping by!

Leave a Reply

