My Classics Club Selections


Jillian, over at A Room Of One’s Own, came up with the idea to host a project/challenge to bring book bloggers closer together by reading and blogging about the classics over the next five years.  The minimum number of books to tackle is 50.  When I read about this club on her blog, I thought that how wonderful this idea sounded!  I decided to join up right away.  My plan is to be a little different, I’m challenging myself to read 103 books by March 9, 2017.  I realize, with a baby on the way, this goal may have to change, but we’ll see.

Aside from the count, there are several books on this list that are daunting to me, such as James Joyce’s Ulysses, and Thomas Hobbes’s Leviathan, but, I’m not going to let that deter me from discovering some new writers and works that I haven’t attempted previously.  There are also some books on this list that I’m looking forward to reading, such as Charlotte Brontë’s Jane Eyre, and Margaret Mitchell’s Gone With The Wind.  There’s also a book on this list that my brother will be absolutely thrilled to see on this list, and one he’s been asking me to read for quite some time now, J.D. Salinger’s The Catcher In The Rye.  However, I would like to note, this list is living and I may or may not change it as I progress through the list.  Don’t want to completely lock myself in!

If you’re interested in reading more about The Classics Club, be sure to visit Jillian’s post about it here.  Without further adieu, here is my list…..

The 103 classics are:

  1. John Adams – The Portable John Adams
  2. Appian – The Civil Wars
  3. Aristotle – The Art of Rhetoric
  4. Aristotle – The Athenian Constitution
  5. Aristotle – The Metaphysics
  6. Aristotle – The Nicomachean Ethics
  7. Aristotle – The Politics
  8. Jane Austen – Mansfield Park
  9. Jane Austen – Northranger Abbey
  10. Jane Austen – Persuasion
  11. Jane Austen – Sense and Sensibility
  12. Charlotte Brontë – Jane Eyre
  13. Emily Brontë – Wuthering Heights
  14. Julius Caesar – The Civil War
  15. Julius Caesar – The Conquest of Gaul
  16. Geoffrey Chaucer – The Canterbury Tales
  17. Erskine Childers – The Riddle of the Sands
  18. Marcus Cicero – Murder  Trials
  19. Marcus Cicero – On Government
  20. Carl von Clausewitz – On War
  21. Charles Darwin – The Descent of Man
  22. Charles Darwin – On the Origin of Species
  23. Charles Dickens – David Copperfield
  24. Charles Dickens – Bleak House
  25. Charles Dickens – A Tale of Two Cities
  26. Charles Dickens – Oliver Twist
  27. Charles Dickens – The Pickwick Papers
  28. Charles Dickens – The Old Curiosity Shop
  29. Fyodor Dostoevsky – The Possessed
  30. Fyodor Dostoevsky – The Idiot
  31. Fyodor Dostoevsky – The Devils
  32. Frederick Douglass – My Bondage, My Freedom
  33. Frederick Douglass – Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass
  34. Alexandre Dumas – The Three Musketeers
  35. Alexandre Dumas – The Man in the Iron Mask
  36. Albert Einstein – Relativity
  37. George Eliot – Middlemarch
  38. Gustave Flaubert – Madame Bovary
  39. Sigmund Freud – The Psychopathology of Everyday Life
  40. Elizabeth Gaskell – North and South
  41. Edward Gibbon – The History of the Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire
  42. Johann Goethe – Faust
  43. Knut Hamsun – Hunger
  44. Thomas Hardy – Tess of the D’urbervilles
  45. Thomas Hobbes – Leviathan
  46. Homer – The Odyssey
  47. Victor Hugo – The Hunchback of Notre Dame
  48. Washington Irving – A History of New York
  49. Henry James – The Portrait of a Lady
  50. James Joyce – Dubliners
  51. James Joyce – Ulysses
  52. Anna Komnene – The Alexiad
  53. D.H. Lawrence – Lady Chatterley’s Lover
  54. Mikhail Lermontov – A Hero of Our Time
  55. Charles Lyell – Principles of Geology
  56. Thomas Malory – Le Morte D’Arthur
  57. Herman Melville – Moby Dick
  58. John Milton – Paradise Lost
  59. Margaret Mitchell – Gone With the Wind
  60. Thomas More – Utopia
  61. Friedrich Nietzsche – Thus Spake Zarathustra
  62. Friedrich Nietzsche – Beyond Good and Evil
  63. George Orwell – Animal Farm
  64. George Orwell – 1984
  65. Ovid – The Metamorphoses
  66. Plato – The Laws
  67. Plutarch – The Rise and Fall of Athens
  68. Jean-Jacques Rousseau – The Social Contract
  69. J.D. Salinger – The Catcher in the Rye
  70. Walter Scott – Rob Roy
  71. Ernest Shackleton – South
  72. William Shakespeare – Hamlet
  73. William Shakespeare – Romeo and Juliet
  74. William Shakespeare – The Taming of the Shrew
  75. William Shakespeare – Much Ado About Nothing
  76. William Shakespeare – MacBeth
  77. William Shakespeare – The Tempest
  78. William Shakespeare – Julius Caesar
  79. William Shakespeare – The Comedy of Errors
  80. William Shakespeare – Twelfth Night
  81. William Shakespeare – King Lear
  82. William Shakespeare – A Midsummer Night’s Dream
  83. William Shakespeare – Othello
  84. William Shakespeare – The Merchant of Venice
  85. William Shakespeare – Shakespeare’s Sonnets
  86. William Shakespeare – Henry IV Part I
  87. William Shakespeare – Henry V
  88. Upton Sinclair – The Jungle
  89. Natsume Soseki – Kokero
  90. John Steinbeck – Of Mice and Men
  91. Harriet Beecher Stowe – Uncle Tom’s Cabin
  92. William Thackeray – Vanity Fair
  93. Henry David Thoreau – Walden
  94. Alexis Tocqueville – Democracy in America
  95. Leo Tolstoy – The Death of Ivan Ilych
  96. Mark Twain – The Adventures of Tom Sawyer
  97. Mark Twain – Adventures of Huckleberry Finn
  98. Mark Twain – A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court
  99. Mark Twain – The Gilded Age
  100. Lao Tzu – Tao Te Ching
  101. Sun Tzu – The Art of War
  102. Virgil – The Aeneid
  103. Voltaire – Candide
About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

14 Responses to “My Classics Club Selections”

  1. Walden!!!! Macbeth! The Sonnets! Gone With the Wind!! A Tale of Two Cities!!! Sense & Sensibility!!!! Jane Eyre!!!!!

    I LOVE your list. Can’t wait to see what you think of some of these. 😀 I’m glad you joined, Jeremy!

  2. Hooray for Canterbury Tales! I’ve actually had to read many of these books for my studies, and I must say, good luck with Ulysses, it’s impossible to read! Might I suggest you replace it with Tim O’Brien’s “The Things They Carried”? Much easier to read and very impressive story. Also, Shakespeare: technically not books but plays… but they’re definitely a must-read :).

    • I’ve been meaning to read Canterbury Tales for quite some time now, and I’ve been hesitating because from what I’ve read before, it seems like it’s poetic in nature, but I’m trying to get over my dislike of poetry!

      I’ve heard some pretty critical remarks about Ulysses, but I’m going to try to not be intimidated by it! Thanks for dropping by!

  3. Excellent list! Walden is my heart throb. 🙂

  4. Lots of great stuff on this list! Love all the Twain (but PLEASE change it to Adventures of Huckleberry Finn – there’s technically no article “The” in the title of that one. He wanted to distinguish it from “The Adventures of Tom Sawyer”). It’s something I get obnoxiously picky about, because Twain is the love of my life! Haha

  5. Wowzers, I am in awe (and also a little scared) of your list. All those big fat Dickens’!! Can’t wait to check in and see how you get on (you have some of my absolute favourites on there). Happy reading 🙂

    • Thanks! When I was compiling the list, I was looking at it and I was like: “Whoa! Am I crazy?” But it will be interesting. I’m going to attempt to keep the list pretty much as is and not make any changes to it, but we’ll see! Thanks for dropping by!

  6. Awesomely ambitious and eclectic list – Russians, Aristotle, Shakespeare, Margaret Mitchell! I love it 🙂 Best of luck in your challenge, especially with a bub coming 🙂

    • Thanks! I certainly hope that I’ll be able to tackle all the books. I’m not quite sure how much free time I’m going to have with a baby on the way, but we’ll definitely see. Thanks for dropping by!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bleak House Fridays – Week 2 | Beltwayliterature - March 9, 2012

    […] March 9, 2012 by Jeremy 0 Comments This week, for the Bleak House read-along hosted by Wallace at Unputdownables, I read until Chapter X.  I think the biggest accomplishment for me with this week’s reading is that I kept up with it.  I think I’m starting to get over thinking that I might not be able to finish Bleak House.  I feel that’s a big first step for me, given the love-hate relationship I keep mentioning I have with Dickens.  That’s definitely a good thing, especially since I have a lot of Dickens on my list for the Classics Club.  If you’re interested in the list, take a look at this post. […]

Leave a Reply

