Now Reading Michael Crichton’s Prey


It’s reached that time where I add yet another book to my “currently reading” shelf.  As I mentioned previously, I have completed the second book, Queen of Sorcery, in the first volume of David Eddings’s The Belgariad.  It is my hope, in the next week or so, to complete the third and final book of first volume of The BelgariadMagician’s Gambit, after I complete my reading of Michael Crichton’s Prey.

It’s been quite some time since I’ve read anything by Michael Crichton.  As a matter of fact, I believe the last Michael Crichton book I read was while I was still in high school in the mid-90s, and that book was Rising Sun, which I recall very much enjoying.  Prey is my brother’s choice for my informal reading club with both my brother and sister.  I checked out the paperback version from the library, and here’s a quick summary from the back cover of the book:

In the Nevada desert, an experiment has gone horribly wrong.  A cloud of nanoparticles – micro-robots – has escaped from the laboratory.  This cloud is self-sustaining and self-reproducing.  It is intelligent and learns from experience.  For all practical purposes, it is alive.

It has been programmed as a predator.  It is evolving swiftly, becoming more deadly with each passing hour.

Every attempt to destroy it has failed.

And we are the prey.

Just by the summary, the book looks like it will be an interesting read.  I’m definitely interested in seeing if I enjoy Crichton as much as I did almost two decades ago.  I suppose I’m getting ready to find out.  If you’ve read Prey or any other Crichton novels, I’d love to hear what you thought of them!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

2 Responses to “Now Reading Michael Crichton’s Prey”

  1. I have to say that Prey was a good book. I am not just saying that because I was the one that picked the book for informal reading club. I honestly belive that it was a good read. I am were else other then Terminator can you get a a swarm of nanobots that want to kill the humans that created them…it was pretty cool.

    • I’ll be posting an in-depth review on Prey sometime this weekend. What I’m more curious about is what our sister’s impression of the book is.

Leave a Reply

