My March Reading Plans


Wow, it seems like February went by as quick as a blink of an eye!  Between doing projects getting the baby’s room ready, family coming to town, and my outside reading, it seemed like this month was only a couple of days long.  I managed to complete several books, and decided to join in in a read-along of Charles Dickens’s Bleak House.  So I was pretty pleased with my accomplishments both with my reading and with baby preparations.

Looking ahead to March, I’m aiming to complete my reading of David Eddings’s The Belgariad Volume I, by finishing the final book in that volume Magician’s Gambit.  The story in the Queen of Sorcery really started to pick up, and I’m really now quite interested in how the story progresses.

I will also continue participating in a read-along for Charles Dickens’s Bleak House.  I’ve enjoyed the story so far, and as I mentioned in my first post here, I’m enjoying the nice, long, and detailed descriptions that Dickens has been using so far in the first 100 pages or so of the book.  I’m definitely starting to get into the story, and I’m hoping my enthusiasm lasts with this book, and it will inspire me to read other works by Dickens.

Also, this month, I’m going to read Michael Crichton’s Prey.  It’s a book about nanotechnology, and it’s something my brother has picked it for the reading group that I participate in with my brother and sister.  I haven’t read any Michael Crichton since my days in high school, so it should be interesting to see how after not reading him for quite some time to see what my impression is of him and his writing.

If time permits, I’ll also be taking a look at another Agatha Christie novel, The Secret Adversary, which I downloaded onto my Kindle for free.  I’ll try to fit some of this reading in while still doing some other work around the house while preparing to get ready for the baby’s arrival.  I hope to not have too many distractions aside from that.  It will definitely be interesting to see what March brings!  Do you have any interesting reading planned for March?  I hope everyone has a great week!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

8 Responses to “My March Reading Plans”

  1. You’re reading Bleak House? I’m impressed. I haven’t read anything by Dickens in years. I have a ton of reading plans for March including participating in several read-alongs. Fingers crossed that both of us will get everything done. 🙂 Have a great week.

    • My main goal, Vasilly, is to try to actually finish a book by Dickens. I attempted David Copperfield about a year and a half ago and didn’t manage to finish it. I’m hoping to reverse my track record with him. With the way the book is going so far, so far so good! Thanks for dropping by, and I hope you have a great week also!

  2. When is the baby due? I’m sorry, but I’m losing track…

    • The baby is due on June 22nd. Although, my wife is beginning to think that we may have arrival a week or so early. She mentioned that was one of the reasons why she’s pressing me to get everything done as quickly as possible.

  3. I saw Bleak House on Amazon the other day when I was scrolling through the classics. I’m going to wait for your review!

    Sounds like you’ve been really busy…hope March is a good month for you.

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST

    • It’s definitely been a very busy first two months of the year. My wife is really pushing me to get all our preparations finished for the baby in case the baby arrives early. She really doesn’t want to be stressing too much during the third trimester which happens to begin later on this week! I think we’re almost there, so I might be able to get in a bit of relaxation before things really start to get hectic! Thanks for dropping by!

  4. Congrats on tackling Bleak House. After I made it through that one for my book club, I swore off Dickens forever!

    • You know, I thought the exact same thing when I couldn’t bring myself to finish David Copperfield. I seem to have this love-hate relationship going on, and I would like to reverse it at some point! Thanks for dropping by!

Leave a Reply

