A Good Week of Reading, Not So For The Weekend


Good morning!  I hope everyone has been having a great weekend!  This week has been a good one for reading for me.  This week, I managed to complete the first part of David Eddings’s The BelgariadPawn of Prophecy.  I started to really get into Pawn of Prophecy as it was getting closer to the end of the book.  You can read some additional thoughts in this post.

One of the better books I completed this week, was Bernard Cornwell’s Sharpe’s Tiger.  I was so pleasantly surprised with this first book of Cornwell’s Sharpe series, that I will end up giving the second book a go at some point this year.  Sharpe’s Tiger is a historical fiction book about a British battle in India in 1799, definitely worth the read.

I also began reading Charles Dickens’s Bleak House as part of a read-along I’m participating in that Wallace is hosting at Unputdownables.  So far, so good, I’m not wanting to quit reading it yet, so maybe this is the love part of my love-hate relationship with Dickens.

As you may have read last Sunday, I mentioned that I was going to have some busy reading weeks ahead of me.  At this point, it seems my prediction may have been slightly off, as I managed to read somethings a bit quicker than I expected.  I still foresee a lot of reading, but maybe not as many books at the same time, which is probably good for me given some of the outside work I need to get accomplished.

That was the week; however, the weekend didn’t start out so well.  So I’d like to take a moment to gripe a bit about a very frustrating project that I had yesterday.  This past Monday, on the Presidents Day holiday, my wife and I went to Ikea to purchase a dresser for the baby’s room.  Yesterday, in my infinite wisdom, I decided to assemble it, thinking that it should only take me a couple of hours to put together.  While the assembly started well, it ended up taking me all day!  And if you’ve ever assembled furniture from Ikea, you know the directions can be quite frustrating!  I managed to complete it, but I started at 10:30 and didn’t finish until almost 5 in the afternoon!

But, on the bright side, my wife and I got to blow off some steam last night, and we went and saw Blake Shelton in concert.  The show was a good time for both of us, and one of the songs he sang, seemed to fit quite well with the furniture assembly, so I thought I’d share the music video with you, as my first video shared on my blog.

What were you reading this week?  I hope everyone is having a great Sunday, and will have a great week ahead!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

11 Responses to “A Good Week of Reading, Not So For The Weekend”

  1. Oh, assembling furniture is always a challenge for me! And for my youngest son, too, who is the only son living nearby. He can do it, but often throws things…lol. However, my daughter is very good at assembling almost anything and does it calmly…but I have to pay her to get her to do it! lol

    Good thing you had the concert to help you let off steam….

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST

    • You know, Laurel, it’s been two days since that assembly, and I’m still feeling quite frustrated about it! I sure hope that’s the most frustrating thing I have to assemble to get ready for the baby’s arrival.

      The concert was great and it did definitely allow me to blow off some steam! Thanks for dropping by!

  2. I get frustrated the moment something doesn’t fit so assembling furniture would put me in a padded room. I also have a love-hate relationship with Dickens, but it seems to me that it had a lot to do with age. I couldn’t get through Hard Times in high school, but in college it was one of my favorite reads.

    Have a nice Sunday!

    • Well, Ivana, I’m certainly hoping that the frustrating product assembly is behind me. We’ll see though, my brother has already told me that I’m in for a real treat for assembling baby stuff once we get everything bought. He would know, as he went through this same drill almost 5 years ago.

      I would really like to get past this love-hate relationship with Dickens, but I think the jury is still out! Thanks for dropping by, and I hope you have a great week!

  3. Sounds like the concert was just what you needed!

  4. How nice that you got to see him in concert! I’ve never read Bleak House, but Dickens is hit and miss for me. I liked Great Expectations and Christmas Carol, but hated Tale of Two Cities.

    • So far, I seem to be enjoying Bleak House but I think the jury is still out. I’m hoping this read-along will keep me motivated enough to get through the entire book. I also enjoyed Great Expectations, and I read it in a British Literature class I took while I was attending GW. David Copperfield is what did it for me. I got through a good chunk of the book, and then for whatever reason, I was just turned off! Thanks for dropping by!

  5. That sounds like me trying to put something together. I usually leave it to my wife ;).

    • You know, it’s so funny you mention that you leave those sorts of things to your wife. My main issue was with drawer spacing, and the directions weren’t really all that clear about the depth of the drawers. I thought they were all the same depth, and then my wife comes into the baby’s room and tells me, “You realize the larger drawers have different depths, right, honey?” I smacked my forehead and 20 minutes later, I was finished!

      Maybe I should go ahead and take your approach next time and just have my wife assemble our Ikea furniture. Although, while she’s pregnant, she’ll just tell me to do it! Thanks for dropping by!

  6. Ah IKEA furniture, how do I loathe thy assembly? Let me count the ways… !

    Glad to hear that the baby room prep is still humming along nicely as is the reading. I’ve been getting a lot of reading done lately as I have had to spend a few hours on buses and in banks this week. It’s worked out nicely. I finished off the second Hunger Games books, got half way through Jonathon Safran Foer’s Eating Animals and I’m making slow but enjoyable progress through Jung Chang’s Wild Swans.

Leave a Reply

