My Thoughts On Cornwell’s Sharpe’s Tiger


On Thursday evening, I completed my reading of Bernard Cornwell’s Sharpe’s Tiger.  My sister chose Sharpe’s Tiger for our informal discussion book club.  I wasn’t sure exactly what to think of this book when I first began reading it.  The first chapter or so started out so slowly, I wasn’t sure if I was going to enjoy this book.  The first chapter was close to 40 pages, and it was written in a very dry tone.

However, after that first chapter or so, the story really started to pick up and became very enjoyable.  Sharpe’s Tiger is the first in the series of Sharpe books that Cornwell has written, at least chronologically.  In this book, Sharpie, who is a private, has been charged to infiltrate the Tippoo’s city to save the British Indian Army’s intelligence chief, Col. McCandless.  What ensues is a great story of a covert operation, where you get to learn more about just how great a soldier Sharpie is, even though he contemplated deserting at the beginning of the book.

I came to discover that I really liked Sharpie from the get go.  Even though I didn’t approve of him beating the snot out of his Sgt, Obadiah Hakeswill, I found Sharpie as a character that I couldn’t help but really get attached to.  He’s a pretty reckless person, but he has no issue with trying to improve himself, and to take advantage of opportunities that are presented to him.

Prior to Sharpe’s Tiger, the only other historical fiction I’ve read have been the first three books of Patrick O’Brian’s Aubrey-Maturin naval series.  I think I may have found another series to begin reading.  I really enjoyed this book, and I foresee myself picking up the second book to see what it’s like.  If you’ve read Sharpe’s Tiger, or any of the other Sharpe books by Bernard Cornwell, I’d be interested in hearing your thoughts!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

2 Responses to “My Thoughts On Cornwell’s Sharpe’s Tiger”

  1. Never mind my question of the other day, about whether or not you can tell this author has a British voice. I was thinking of Cornwell’s Starbuck series, which is set in the American Civil War. I wanted to know if a British writer well-captured the era. 😀

    • I may eventually get to that series. There’s just so much I want to read and so little time to do it in! Although, since it’s about our Civil War, I might see about getting to it sooner than later!

Leave a Reply

