Thoughts On Part I Of The Belgariad


Earlier in the week, I completed reading the first book of David Eddings’s The BelgariadPawn of Prophecy.  Pawn of Prophecy is a good introduction to the series.  In Pawn of Prophecy, we’re introduced to Garion, Mr. Wolf, and Aunt Pol, and their quest to find the man who stole a magical orb.  Throughout the book, Garion has no idea what they’re after, nor very much about his family or past.

As a teenage boy, he’s always been raised by his Aunt Pol, without knowing anything about his parents or what happened to them, except knowing they’ve died.  Throughout the book, Garion asks all kinds of questions as they try to evade the people seeking them, in order to discover more about his past, while being treated like an adult, even though he’s only a child of maybe 14.

I found Pawn of Prophecy to be a nice fun read, although, I was a little disappointed with how many details have been left out about the magical orb, and the person who stole it.  I understand Pawn of Prophecy is the first book of the series, but I felt there were many details that left me wanting to know more.  Fortunately, there are two other books in The Belgariad for me to discover more.  I’m also hoping to see a bit more character development, as it seems to me, that a good number of the characters are paper-thin.

Overall, though, I enjoyed the book, and I hope there is more adventure to come in the next portion of it, Queen of Sorcery.  If you’ve read David Eddings’s The Belgariad, I’d be interested in hearing what you think!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

5 Responses to “Thoughts On Part I Of The Belgariad”

  1. I really adore the Belgariad… The story comes together as you go, and some parts are a bit hard to follow, but overall it’s a great way to spend a February! I find in my writing style I try to aim somewhere between David Edding’s Belgariad and C.S. Lewis’ Chronicles of Narnia, thus leaving room for new readers and old, with lots of inspiration and world development along the way. I thrive on critique, even if it’s negative. Please feel free to stop by my blog and read under the category: Projects, anytime to give me your opinion on my current manuscript.

    • I thought the story started to pick up as I was reaching the end of Pawn of Prophecy. I’m definitely interested to see if the second book Queen of Sorcery keeps up at the same pace! Thanks for dropping by!

  2. This was one of the first fantasy series I ever read (when I was in my early teens) and I loved it. I should really go back and re-read it.

    • I definitely started to get more into it with the second book in the set Queen of Sorcery. I was kind of so-so on it as I finished Pawn of Prophecy. I’m looking forward to getting to the third book Magician’s Gambit. Thanks for dropping by!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Thoughts On David Eddings’s The Belgariad Volume I | Beltwayliterature - March 22, 2012

    […] already discussed my thoughts on Pawn of Prophecy, and you can read those thoughts in my post here.  In this post, I’ll be taking a very brief look at books two and three, Queen of Sorcery […]

Leave a Reply

