Now Reading Bernard Cornwell’s Sharpe’s Tiger


It looks like I’m going to be a polygamous reader much earlier this year than last.  This week, I’ve begun reading, as part of my brother and sister’s informal reading group, Bernard Cornwell’s Sharpe’s Tiger.  My sister chose this particular book because she really loves the mini-series starring Sean Bean, and she thought it would be a good idea to introduce my brother and I to this series.

I decided to check out the paperback version of the book from our public library.  Here’s a quick synopsis from the back of the book:

In a battery of events what will make a hero out of an illiterate private, a young Richard Sharpe poses as the enemy to bring down a ruthless Indian dictator backed by fearsome French troops.

The year is 1799, and Richard Sharpe is just beginning his military career.  An inexperienced young private in His Majesty’s service, Sharpe becomes part of an expedition to India to push the ruthless Tippoo of Mysore from his throne and drive out his French allies.  To penetrate the Tippoo’s city and make contact with a Scottish spy being held prisoner there, Sharpe has to pose as a deserter.  Success will make him a sergeant, but failure will turn him over to the Tippoo’s brutal executioners – or, worse, his man-eating tigers.  Picking his way through an exotic and alien world, Sharpe realizes that one slip will mean disaster.  And when the furious British assault on the city finally begins, Sharpe must take up arms against his true comrades to preserve his false identity, risking death at their hands in order to avoid detection and thus foil the Tippoo’s well-set trap.

The book looks like it could be an interesting choice by my sister.  I’ve never read Cornwell before, so I’m looking forward to a different type of story.  If you’ve read Sharpe’s Tiger, or any of the other Sharpe series by Cornwell, I’d love to know what you thought of them!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

