Now Reading David Eddings’ The Belgariad


Yesterday I began reading David Edding’s The Belgariad.  I’m reading this book as part of my effort for 2012 to read more books from my bookshelf before purchasing new ones.  I don’t quite remember when I purchased The Belgariad, I just know it’s been on my bookshelf for a good number of years.  This book contains the first three books of the series, Pawn of ProphecyQueen of Sorcery, and Magician’s Gambit.

Here’s a quick summary of what the book is about taken from the back cover:

It all begins with the theft of the Orb that for so long protected the West from an evil god.  As long as the Orb was at Riva, the prophecy went, its people would be safe from this corrupting power.  Garion, a simple farm boy, is familiar with the legend of the Orb, but skeptical in matters of magic.  Until, through a twist of fate, he learns not only that the story of the Orb is true, but that he must set out on a quest of unparalleled danger to help recover it.  For Garion is a child of destiny, and fate itself is leading him far from his home, sweeping him irrecoverably leading him far from his home, sweeping him irrevocably toward a distant tower – and a cataclysmic confrontation with a master of the darkest magic.

I remember why I picked this book up and it was definitely because of the description on the back of the book.  I’ve never read anything by David Eddings before and I’m looking forward to beginning this set.  If you’ve read The Belgariad, or anything else by David Eddings, I’d love to hear your thoughts!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

