Bleak House Read-Along Starting Post


So yesterday, I got wind of another read-along that I thought might be fun to participate in.  As you may know, late last year, I participated in a read-along that Wallace hosted at Unputdownables on Leo Tolstoy’s Anna Karenina.  I enjoyed participating in that event, and wasn’t so sure when I’d participate in the next one until I found out about a read-along for Charles Dickens’s Bleak House.

This read-along fits right in with my effort here in 2012 to read from the unread books on my bookshelf.  And, as I’ve mentioned before, I sort of this love/hate relationship with Charles Dickens, and I’m hoping that participating in this read-along will properly motivate me to keep up with it this time instead of not finishing the book, like I did with David Copperfield in 2010.

I’ll be reading the Barnes and Noble classics version of Bleak House and here’s a quick synopsis of what the book is about from the back of the book:

Often considered Charles Dickens’s masterpiece, Bleak House, blends together several literary genres – detective fiction, romance, melodrama, and satire – to create an unforgettable portrait of the decay and corruption at the heart of law and society in Victorian England.

Opening in the swirling mists of London, the novel revolves around a court case that has dragged on for decades – the infamous Jarndyce and Jarndyce lawsuit, in which an inheritance is gradually devoured by legal costs.  As Dickens takes us through the case’s history, he presents a cast of characters as idiosyncratic and memorable as any he ever created, including the beautiful Lady Dedlock, who hides a shocking secret about an illegitimate child and a long-lost love; Mr. Bucket, one of the first detectives to appear in English fiction; and the hilarious Mrs. Jellyby, whose endless philanthropy has left her utterly unconcerned about her own family.  As a question of inheritance becomes a question of murder, the novel’s heroine, Esther Summerson, struggles to discover the truth about her birth and her unknown mother’s tragic life.  Can the resilience of her love transform a bleak house?  And – more devastatingly – will justice prevail?

As with Anna Karenina, my intent is to post every Friday my thoughts on the reading.  Here’s the reading schedule for the read-along:

Week #/ dates :: Place in which to STOP

Week One/ February 24- March 1 :: Chapter 6
Week Two/ March 2-8 :: Chapter 10
Week Three/ March 9-15 ::Chapter 15
Week Four/ March 16-22 :: Chapter 20
Week Five/ March 23- 29 :: Chapter 24
Week Six/ March 30- April 5 :: Chapter 30
Week Seven/ April 6-12 :: Chapter 34
Week Eight/ April 13-19 :: Chapter 39
Week Nine/ April 20-26 :: Chapter 45
Week Ten/ April 27- May 3 :: Chapter 51
Week Eleven/ May 4- 10 :: Chapter 56
Week Twelve/ May 11-17 :: Chapter 61
Week Thirteen/ May 18-24 :: The End

I’m looking forward to tackling this work and hope it’s an enjoyable read!  If you’d like to sign up for this read-along, please visit the starting post here!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

3 Responses to “Bleak House Read-Along Starting Post”

  1. I am going to do this as well; thanks for convincing me to do so as well!

    Here is my opening post: http://jaynesbooks.blogspot.com/2012/02/bleak-house-read-along-starting-post.html

    • Hi Melissa,

      I have this love-hate relationship with Dickens, and I didn’t finish my last book by him, David Copperfield. I hope the outcome is much different with Bleak House. Thanks for dropping by!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bleak House Fridays – Week One | Beltwayliterature - March 2, 2012

    […] 2, 2012 by Jeremy 0 Comments As I mentioned in my starting post here, I’m participating in a read-along for Charles Dickens’s Bleak House which is being […]

Leave a Reply

