My Thoughts On Agatha Christie’s The Mysterious Affair At Styles


I know, I know, I’m a bit behind in my blogging on books I’ve finished reading.  My excuse, other than pure laziness, is I don’t have one!  🙂  Other things have been keeping me busy, work, and outside stuff.

As I mentioned last week, I completed my reading of my second Agatha Christie mystery novel, The Mysterious Affair At Styles.  In this book, Agatha Christie introduces us to her world-famous detective Hercule Poirot.  I found Hercule Poirot to be rather eccentric with his methods.  He only discloses information of his choosing and when he chooses to do so when it suits his interests.  I don’t know quite yet if he’s overly cocky, but I could see some of those tendencies in this book.

In this book, Poirot enlists the help of his friend Hastings, whom is staying at Styles, in determining who murdered Emily Inglethorp.  There are, of course, many suspects that Poirot looks at during the course of his investigation.  The particulars, Mrs. Inglethorp was found murdered, but all the doors joining her room, and the entry door were all locked shut from the inside.  A rather complicated murder to solve, wouldn’t you say?  Not for Hercule Poirot.  He managed to figure it out well before I was able to do so!

I had a pretty good idea of who committed the murder, but how that person managed to pull it off remained a complete mystery to me until the last 20 pages or so of the book when Poirot explained it to all parties involved.  I was quite flabbergasted with all the details and the particulars of how the crime was committed really didn’t cross my mind!

I truly enjoyed reading The Mysterious Affair At Styles.  It was a fun read, and I had a wonderful time trying to figure out for myself how the murder was committed.  I’m glad I had the opportunity to enjoy such a fun read this winter, and Agatha Christie didn’t disappoint me, much like my first Christie novel, Murder is Easy.  I’m looking forward to reading my next Agatha Christie novel, The Secret Adversary later on this year.  If you’ve read The Mysterious Affair At Styles, I’d love to hear your thoughts!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

2 Responses to “My Thoughts On Agatha Christie’s The Mysterious Affair At Styles”

  1. Is this the first Hercule Poirot book you’ve read? If so, you are in for a wonderful ride 🙂 I can’t wait to read your reaction to Death on the Nile and Curtain, which are my favorite Hercule Poirot novels out of the bunch.

Leave a Reply

