My Thoughts On Marion Zimmer Bradley’s The Mists of Avalon


Earlier this week I completed my reading of Marion Zimmer Bradley’s The Mists of Avalon.  In Bradley’s book, she tells the legendary story of King Arthur and Camelot through the eyes of the women that were involved with Arthur’s life.  I must admit, I wasn’t quite sure what to expect when I began reading this book.  It read a bit slower than some of the other books I’ve read so far this calendar year, and I’m not quite sure why.  Was it something that had to deal with Bradley’s writing style?  I’m unsure.

In The Mists of Avalon, from a female perspective, the story of Arthur’s life is told, starting off from the very beginning before Arthur was born.  It was definitely interesting to learn about Viviane, the Lady of the Lake, and her sister Igraine, and Morgaine, and how they plotted, schemed, and planned how to keep Britain united and under a dual religious type of society.

The main focus of the book was with Arthur and how he didn’t live up to his obligations to Avalon and the repercussions of that decision.  Out of all the characters in the book, I feel I enjoyed reading about Morgaine the most.  She was very conflicted during the course of the book.  She was conflicted with her religious beliefs and her loyalty/love for her brother.  You saw this conflict up close and personal throughout the course of the story.

Religion, of course, was a major topic in the story line of The Mists of Avalon.  Perhaps it was a bit too religious for me for a fantasy book.  Being a religious person myself, I was a bit troubled with the emphasis on the pagan religion that those of Avalon believed in, but I didn’t let it get in my way of enjoying the story.

One thing that I felt I was at a disadvantage with while reading The Mists of Avalon was that I wasn’t overly familiar with the Arthurian legend.  Maybe that was a good thing, but it definitely piqued my interest, and I plan on reading The Once and Future King at some point later on this year.

Overall, I enjoyed my reading of Marion Zimmer Bradley’s The Mists of Avalon.  I would recommend it to anyone who has interest in the Arthurian legend or enjoys fantasy novels.  If you’ve read The Mists of Avalon, I’d love to hear what you thought!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

One Response to “My Thoughts On Marion Zimmer Bradley’s The Mists of Avalon”

  1. I’ve had a copy for ever, but I’ve never read it.

Leave a Reply

