Ah, Slow Winter Reading


Winter seems to have finally arrived here in Burke with colder temperatures and our first snow dusting of the year.  Or maybe it’s because we were without heat for most of the week, as a week ago today, our heater broke on us and it took 5 days to get it fixed!  We managed to survive the colder evenings, but we’re glad that the heat was back up and running with the first little bit of snow on the ground.

That being said, it was a pretty slow week for reading.  Not sure if it has anything to do with our heater being busted or the book that I’m currently reading, Marion Zimmer Bradley’s The Mists of Avalon.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m enjoying the book, but it’s reading significantly slower than the previous books I’ve read earlier this month.  It’s also definitely not what I was expecting when I first picked it up.  But it seems I’ve picked the best time to read this book, with it being cold, given the atmosphere depicted by Bradley.

The atmosphere depicted makes it seem like a dark, cold, gloomy time in England, some of the characters are cold, like Viviane, and others, not so much.  I’ve just recently begun the second part, The High Queen, and I can already tell, there are going to be dark times upcoming for several of the main characters.  Definitely a good story to sit near your fireplace and read all day, which is what I did this past Monday with the heat out.  It made it seem more real and I felt like I was part of the story.

This upcoming week, I’ll continue reading The Mists of Avalon before things start to get a little bit more hectic here.  We have to begin baby shopping in the next week or so, and I have quite a few things to get accomplished before spring hits us with getting the baby’s room ready.  What are you reading this week?  Have you ever felt like you’ve been more a part of the story when you read depending on the atmosphere of your reading location?

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

6 Responses to “Ah, Slow Winter Reading”

  1. One of my books this week was set in England during the year Diana died…a very definite page-turning drama, with 627 pages.

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST and here’s
    MY WEBSITE

  2. I’ve never really thought about atmosphere of where I’m reading…although the one good thing I can say about Goldfinger, what I was reading (listening to) this past week, was that for the most part it was set in a warmer locale (Florida) than where I am now (Pennsylvania). I didn’t mind it at all.

    • That’s the beauty of Goldfinger! It did seem like it was colder this past week than the previous couple, or maybe that’s because we didn’t have heat… 🙂

      Most of the time, I also don’t think about atmosphere, I think last week was probably the exception to the rule!

  3. I can see that it would be challenging, or maybe just less enjoyable, to read some books if your physical reality was vastly at odds with the book’s reality. I think reading Game of Thrones has been better in the chill of winter rather than the humidity of Taiwan’s summer – it just adds something I think.

    Good luck with the baby shopping and preparations! Hope it all goes well 🙂

    • Game of Thrones definitely strikes me as a book that would be more appropriately read in the winter than summer, Kath!

      I, too, hope the baby shopping and preparations go well. My wife was telling me again yesterday on how she feels like we’re behind. Not sure if I agree with her sentiments, yet…

Leave a Reply

