Now Reading – Back to Work


Late yesterday, I managed to complete my reading of Patrick O’Brian’s H.M.S. Surprise. (I’ll be posting my thoughts on it in a few days.)  The timing of me completing it meshed perfectly with my trip to our local library on Saturday to pick up a book that I was on the wait-list for.  The book that I had been waiting for is by President Bill Clinton and it’s called Back to Work – Why We Need Smart Government for a Strong Economy.

As there are other people waiting in line to read this book, I need to get it read quickly and back to the library as I won’t be able to renew it.  Simply put, I’m interested in reading this book by President Clinton because I want to gather his insights on the perilous economic troubles we’ve been experiencing the last several years.  His viewpoints very well might differ from my own, but I’m definitely willing to take that chance to broaden my exposure to these critical issues and their root causes and solutions in order to further my own understanding.

Here’s a brief synopsis from the jacket cover:

President Bill Clinton gives us his views on the challenges facing the United States today and why government matters – presenting his ideas on restoring economic growth, job creation, financial responsibility, resolving the mortgage crisis, and pursuing a strategy to get us “back in the future business.”  He explains how we got into the current economic crisis, and offers specific recommendations on how we can put people back to work, increase bank lending and corporate investment, double our exports, restore our manufacturing base, and create new businesses.  He supports President Obama’s emphasis on green technology, saying that changing the way we produce and consume energy is the strategy most likely to spark a fast-growing economy while enhancing our national security.

Clinton also stresses that we need a strong private sector and a smart government working together to restore prosperity and progress, demonstrating that whenever we’ve given in to the temptation to blame government for all our problems, we’ve lost our ability to produce sustained economic growth and shared prosperity.

Clinton writes, “There is simply no evidence that we can succeed in the twenty-first century with an anti-government strategy,” based on “a philosophy grounded in ‘you’re on your own’ rather than ‘we’re all in this together.'”  He believes that conflict between government and the private sector has proved to be good politics but has produced bad policies, giving us a weak economy with not enough jobs, growing income inequality and poverty, and a decline in our competitive position.  In the real world, cooperation works much better than conflict, and “Americans need victories in real life.”

I’m definitely interested in reading what President Clinton has to say, and I hope to have a completely open mind while doing so.  If you’ve read Back to Work, I’d love to hear your thoughts!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Now Reading – Murder Is Easy « Beltwayliterature - January 11, 2012

    […] Read RSS ← Now Reading – Back to Work My Thoughts On H.M.S. Surprise […]

Leave a Reply

