2012 – The Year of New Reading & Adventures


Happy New Year!  As I mentioned yesterday, 2011 was a year of ups and downs for me, both with my reading and with other things going on at both home and work.  First off, I want to thank everyone that’s taken the time to read about my journey in 2011.  I’ve met some new friends online, and I appreciate all the comments and interaction.

In 2011 I felt I grew a lot as a reader and expanded my comfort zone, which is definitely a good thing.  But now that 2011 has come to a close, I’m looking forward to even more adventures this year, both in my reading and in other aspects of my life.

While last year was pretty structured with my reading goals, this year, I’m not going to set any specific books to read.  Not necessarily a year of reading aimlessly per se, but a year of exploration.  Another reason why this approach works for me is that in June my life is going to significantly change.  I mentioned a couple of weeks ago that my wife and I are expecting our first child, so setting hard goals for the year would be short-sighted as I don’t know how much time I’ll have for reading with a new baby.

That’s one of the adventures that awaits me in 2012, being a father.  So this year will obviously see me reading some parenting books and anything related to babies.  I may or may not blog about those particular books, but we’ll see.  🙂

Very early on in 2012 though, I will be discovering who John Galt is by completing my reading of Ayn Rand’s Atlas Shrugged.  After that, I have no solid plans, but I would like to continue reading Patrick O’Brian’s Aubrey/Maturin series, and to continue my reading of George R.R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire series.  I’ll also read more books with my brother and discuss them with him.

I’m looking forward to a great and adventurous 2012.  Do you have any set reading goals for the year?

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

8 Responses to “2012 – The Year of New Reading & Adventures”

  1. Aww! Congratulations! There is nothing I took on in my life that has given me more pleasure (and more pain) than becoming a mom.

    I’m essentially goal-less this year, too. I decided (Hey, I’m a grownup and I can make my own rules!) to slow down on the good books and speed up on the so-so books. I think I will enjoy books more if I take more time with the good ones.

    Happy New Year, Jeremy!

    Here are my Reading Resolutions for 2012.

    • Thanks! I think I’m going to enjoy being relatively goal-less in my reading this year. And you’re right, it’s definitely cool being able to make your own rules. Happy New Year Deb!

  2. Fatherhood will be a wonderful journey, I’m sure! I can only imagine, having only been a mother (and grandmother)…lol

    I’m curious about your thoughts on Atlas Shrugged…that’s a book I read way back in the day…and hope to reread, at some point.

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST and
    MY WEBSITE

    • I’m actually looking forward to the journey of fatherhood. I’ve known some people who have been a bit fearful, but then have really enjoyed it.

      My post on my thoughts on Atlas Shrugged will probably be up in a week or so, depends on how much longer it takes me to finish the last 100 pages or so. From the looks of it, it will definitely be a book that I’ll read again as I’m sure there are some things I’ve missed! Happy New Year and thanks for dropping by!

  3. I always plan to be more free in my reading at the start of the year, but never begin that way: making grand pronouncements on specifically what I’m going to read. By the end, though, I usually open up to a little more exploration as I realize there are just some books to which I’m not going to get.

    • I’m actually looking forward to having a year of reading freely. As you know, last year was pretty structured, so it will be nice to not have as much structure with my reading selections.

  4. Hope you have a Happy New Year.

    Here is my last Sunday Salon post for the year.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Now Reading HMS Surprise « Beltwayliterature - January 6, 2012

    […] Reading HMS Surprise 06 Jan As I mentioned in my New Year’s post, this year is my year of reading without structure, just where my whims take me.  In that context, […]

Leave a Reply

