As 2011 Comes To An End…..


I have but one question….  WHO IS JOHN GALT?  More on that in a moment.

I see that the year has not only gone by quickly, but has been one filled with not only surprises, but some downs as well.  From a reading perspective, I’ve nearly read everything I set out to read with the exception of Ayn Rand’s Atlas Shrugged.

I’ve discovered some new authors, such as Janet Evanovich and Patrick O’Brian.  But what’s even more impressive to me from this year is that I read four books by Karl Marx, Grundrisse, Capital Volume I, Capital Volume II, and Capital Volume III.  Reading those four books really stretched the limits of my reading and even my own comprehension, but I’m really pleased that I was able to complete these four books most of all during 2011.

This year was also another year of firsts as I participated in my first online read-along.  I participated in a read-along for Leo Tolstoy’s Anna Karenina.  It was definitely a different experience for me, and we’ll see if it’s something that I’ll do again.

While I enjoyed all of that, the book I seem to be enjoying the most, as I close out 2011 is Ayn Rand’s Atlas Shrugged.  My brother and I are reading it together and we’re really enjoying it.  While I’m slightly disappointed that I won’t have it finished by 11:59 this evening, I’m really pleased that I’m taking my time reading it and enjoying everything about it.  So as 2011 comes to a close, I find myself ending the year asking myself:  “WHO’S JOHN GALT?”

I hope everyone has a safe and happy new year!  Did you reach all your reading goals for this year?

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

4 Responses to “As 2011 Comes To An End…..”

  1. I have no idea who John Galt is. Happy New Year!!

    • Happy New Year! “Who is John Galt?” is a question that is frequently asked in Ayn Rand’s Atlas Shrugged. I’m in the final part of Atlas Shrugged, while John Galt has been introduced, I’m still not quite sure who he really is. I hope to find out in the next couple of days! I hope you’re new year is great! Thanks for dropping by!

  2. As usual I didn’t read all the things I wanted to read, but I think I did read more books than in the past. Since it’s been over 30 years since I read Atlas Shrugged I only vaguely recollect who John Galt is. I still need to reread this book to see how I would respond to it at this time in my life.

    Happy New Year!

    Lee
    Wrote By Rote

  3. I did not reach all of my 2011 reading goals — but I’m further along as a reader than I was at the start of 2011, and that’s awesome.

    Have fun reading with your brother, and Happy New Year, Jeremy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

