My Thoughts on The Legacy


While reading Atlas Shrugged last week, I decided to go ahead and take a quick break by reading one of the books on my to be read list.  This particular book has been gathering dust on my bookshelf for a good number of years and was a gift from my sister.  This book is Stephen Frey’s The Legacy.  Here’s the summary from the back of the book:

Bond trader Cole Egan is on the edge of financial and professional ruin when he receives a surprising inheritance.  His estranged father has left him a key to a safe-deposit box.  Inside the box is a videotape of the John F. Kennedy assassination – filmed from the other side of Dealey Plaza – proving beyond a doubt that there was a second gunman on the infamous “grassy knoll.”

It is a revelation that could shake the nation to its core.  A prize worth millions to the person who possesses it.  A secret that some will kill to keep….

I wasn’t quite sure what to expect with this book.  What I got was a fast-paced mystery/thriller.  It’s a similar type of read as the Janet Evanovich books have been for me this year.  Something quick without a lot of depth and/or character growth.  That doesn’t mean I don’t think The Legacy wasn’t a good read, it’s a decent escape book, that had some twists and turns that I wasn’t expecting.

Cole is definitely a character that likes to take financial risks, whether it be at his job, or just pure gambling, and those risks are part of what helps him succeed in this book, and also what drives a lot of his troubles.  I also liked how the book had a financial culture to it, which brings out Frey’s beginnings as a Wall Street trader.  It definitely brought credibility to how Wall Street was working during the late 90s.

I also know why my sister thought I would enjoy this book, with the over-arching theme being that of the Kennedy assassination.  While, as we know, there are many conspiracy theories out there about JFK’s assassination, this book capitalizes on that fascination.

Overall, I found The Legacy to be a decent read, and a good book to get me distracted from Ayn Rand’s Atlas Shrugged for a couple of days.  However, I don’t think it will be a book that I’ll read a second time.  If you’ve read The Legacy, or any other books by Stephen Frey, please feel free to leave a comment!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

