A Brief Look At 2012


With 2011 quickly coming to an end, I thought I would take some time and take a brief look at some reading that I aim to do in 2012.  With 2011 being a pretty structured reading year, I’m looking at 2012 being not as structured.

While I’m confident that I’ll be reading my fair share of classics, I’m also relatively confident that I won’t be tackling anything nearly as deep, or complicated, as my Karl Marx reading during this year.  I’m also going to be looking at reading more modern day fiction, such as George R.R. Martin, and a bit more of Patrick O’Brian.

More specifically; however, I’m looking at tackling books that aren’t read on my bookcase.  A good number of those books are listed on my To Be Read page.  My goal is to knock at least 5 books off that list next year before I purchase too many new books during 2012.

I also need to see about getting as much reading accomplished in the first half of the year that I can, with my wife due with our first child at the end of June.  Something tells me that after that point, my available free time for reading very well might be severely limited.

Finally, a quick comment for the remaining two weeks of the year.  It is my hope to complete my reading of Atlas Shrugged in the next two weeks.  I’m about 45% of the way through the book, I’m enjoying it immensely, and I’m planning on having multiple posts about it in the upcoming week.

What are you reading this week and have you given any thoughts to your reading plans for 2012?

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

14 Responses to “A Brief Look At 2012”

  1. Congrats on that new baby, Jeremy! 🙂

  2. Good on you for reading Atlas Shrugged – I look at it and want to cry. And I definitely need to read my book shelf books that are sitting there, rusting. Thanks for reminding me.

    • Hi Cassie!

      It’s really quite an interesting story but it’s also deep with many messages, both from a political viewpoint as well as from an individual point of view.

      I hear you on reading unread books on my shelf collecting dust, my wife feels I need to get through these as quickly as possible. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Good luck on the To Be Read List and congrats on the new baby. Lots of Christmas wishes to you and your family.

    Here is my Sunday Salon.

  4. Good luck on Atlas Shrugged!

    I’ve already joined five challenges for the New Year…I need to stop! But two of them will help me focus on the unread books on my stacks: a TBR Challenge and a Chunkster Challenge.

    I’ve been postponing the larger books for awhile…time to tackle them.

    Thanks for visiting my blog.

    • Hi Laurel!

      I’ve seen quite a few reading challenges floating around, but I think I’m going to refrain from joining any this upcoming year. I hope you’ll enjoy tackling those challenges, and I think I might have to check out the Chunkster Challenge. Thanks for dropping by!

  5. Congratulations on the new baby! I hope you’re able to read from your stack before June. Right now I’m reading Moonwalking with Einstein by Joshua Foer. After that, I’m hoping to read a few review copies. Have a great week.

    • Thanks Vasilly! Moonwalking with Einstein sounds like it’s quite an interesting read! I hope you have a great week as well, and thanks for dropping by!

  6. Books in the Burbs Reply December 18, 2011 at 7:19 pm

    Congratulations on having a baby!! How absolutely exciting!!! Great 2012 goals! I just cleaned out my bookshelf of all these books I purchased when Borders was closing and started reading one of the books, “The Soldier’s Wife”. I think having an e-reader has camoflauged my hoarding of books 😉

    • Thanks! 🙂 I’m a recent convert to e-readers, but I can definitely see it as holding a large collection of books in the not too distant future. 🙂 My wife will definitely like it very much if I can get through most of the unread books on our bookshelf this upcoming year. Thanks for dropping by!

  7. Good luck with your goals and congratulations on the baby! I would like next year to be less structured as well, starting with reading more stuff not published in 2012. I have a big TBR to tackle.

    • Thanks, Laura! My wife and I are pretty excited about our upcoming addition! I wish you luck in getting your TBR pile shorter as well! Thanks for dropping by!

Leave a Reply

