My Thoughts On Game Of Thrones


On December 4th, I completed my reading of George R.R. Martin’s Game of Thrones, the first book of A Song of Ice and Fire.  I read this book on my Kindle as part of a bundled package of four that also includes A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows.  The Kindle version of Game of Thrones was very well formatted, and to date, is the longest book I’ve read on my e-reader to date.

I found the story to be quite fascinating!  I loved how each chapter was devoted to one of the main characters from their point of view.  I have never seen anything like that before.  The story was full of twists and turns, with a lot of plotting, politicking, etc throughout the book.  One of my favorite quotes from the book is from Cersei Lannister, and for me, sums up all the scheming in the book beautifully:

When you play the game of thrones, you win or you die.  There is no middle ground.

As I mentioned in my post, Game of Thrones – A Look At Tyrion, I found him to be one of the most fascinating characters in Game of Thrones.  My thoughts haven’t changed too terribly much since that post, but I think I’m beginning to lean toward the idea that he’s just as conniving as his brother and sister are.  I’m truly looking forward to seeing more of Tyrion in A Clash of Kings.

Of course, I also found Ned Stark to be a noble character.  So full of honor, trying to do the right thing at all times; however, that honor clouded his judgment and didn’t allow him to see the political situation clearly when he moved to Kings Landing to serve the King.  The honor, because it blinded him so, ended up being his undoing.  I admire him for sticking to his guns, but at what point do you say the heck with it and look out for your own skin?  Especially in the type of climate he had put himself into.  In my opinion, in a situation such as this one clearly was, you definitely have to look out for yourself, or else be prepared to pay the price, and that’s what Ned ultimately did.

Another thing I really enjoyed about Game of Thrones is the fact that even though it’s a fantasy novel, there wasn’t a lot of magic involved.  While I can enjoy those books as much as the next person, I’m glad it wasn’t present here.  It definitely adds a touch of reality to this fantasy novel, a touch that didn’t go unnoticed by me.

I’m glad I took a brief detour to read Game of Thrones.  I’m also looking forward to watching the rest of the HBO series of the first season once it comes out on DVD.  Early on next year, I’ll pick up book 2, A Clash of Kings and continue the adventure.

If you’ve read Game of Thrones, I’d love to hear your thoughts!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

