December Is Here – Time To End 2011 With A Bang


It just seems like yesterday that it was January and the year was new.  I can’t believe how quickly 2011 has gone by.  Before I turn to what’s coming for December, I just want to take a moment to talk about this past month.  In November, I continue participating in a read-along for Leo Tolstoy’s Anna Karenina.  I’ve been enjoying the book and participating in the read-along.  It’s amazing what I’ve learned about the book from the various participants.  This read-along has made the novel more enjoyable to have others to discuss it with.

I also began reading Ayn Rand’s Atlas Shrugged and began discussing it with my brother and sister.  I’ve made it through almost the first part of the book and I’m enjoying the story so far.  I’m looking forward to getting back on track with reading it some more and discussing it with my siblings as we make our way through December.

Over the Thanksgiving holiday, I completed a reading of Henry David Thoreau’s Civil Disobedience.  I had never read the political essay before, and I read it on my Kindle.  I discovered how a lot of Thoreau’s thoughts can certainly apply to today’s political dialogue and issues of the day.

And how could I forget about George R.R. Martin’s A Game of Thrones.  I continued my reading of it during November, and earlier today, I completed my reading of the first book.  There will be a post containing my detailed thoughts about it in a day or so.

This month, I plan on ending with a bang.  Not only do I plan on completing my reading of Anna Karenina, it is my hope to complete my reading of Atlas Shrugged.  If I complete Atlas Shrugged this month, I will have completed all the books I set out to read this calendar year.  If I don’t manage to complete Atlas Shrugged, I won’t lose any sleep over it, but it sure would be nice if I completed my 2011 reading goals.

With the Christmas season upon us, I hope everyone has a great December sharing good times with family and friends, and of course, good reading!  What do you plan on reading in this last month of 2011?

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

12 Responses to “December Is Here – Time To End 2011 With A Bang”

  1. I enjoyed both Anna Karenina and Atlas Shrugged…but I read them both many years ago. I would love to reread them.

    Hope you have a great December…and thanks for visiting my blog.

    • I’m currently enjoying both novels. I’m about 3/4 of the way through Anna Karenina, but I’m still very much in the early parts of Atlas Shrugged. I hope your December is great with family and friends!

  2. Atlas Shrugged- good work! Couldn’t quite get through it but can’t leave a book unread! I notice you have a kindle, but that doesn’t necessarily exclude you from the following:

    http://thepollyannafragments.wordpress.com/2011/12/04/the-history-books-forgot-about-us-and-the-bible-didnt-mention-us-not-even-once/

    over on my blog I have started a paradoxical and largely imaginative revolution for readers who wish to remain doing so! Join us if you like!
    Cheers!
    ‘Pollyanna’

    • I’m still very much in the early parts of Atlas Shrugged. I also don’t enjoy leaving books unread. I’ve done it only a couple of times in the last year or so.

      Yes, I do have a Kindle, I just don’t have the space I used to anymore to store books, or else I’d be buying more books in physical format. Thanks for dropping by Pollyanna!

  3. Sounds like you are reading some big books this month. I am hoping to get to some myself before the end of the year, but I never know. I am bad and planning my reading and sticking to it.

    • Hi Laura, it is my hope to make it through them, but we’ll see! My wife and I have a lot going on throughout the month! I’m hoping that with the early weeks of 2012, that I’ll be able to read a bit more lighter fare. Thanks for dropping by!

  4. Your reading list might not be a lot in terms of the number of books, but as for quality and the size of the books, I think you have almost everyone I know beat. Whether or not you complete Atlas Shrugged, you still rock…in my opinion.

    • Thanks, Bryan, I appreciate it! Next year, I’m hoping to tackle a bit more “lighter” fare. I really haven’t set any lists up for 2012, and I think it will be a year of reading whatever suits my fancy.

  5. I need to reread Civil Disobedience. I enjoyed my first read of it, earlier this year. 🙂

    • Hi Jillian,

      I’ll probably end up re-reading it myself. The version I downloaded for free on my Kindle wasn’t formatted very well. While I was able to read the entire thing, some parts weren’t easy to follow because of the poor formatting.

  6. I am planning on reading some Christmasy fare and also the Steve Jobs biography, which is quite good and is very compelling.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. An Atlas Shrugged Weekend « Beltwayliterature - December 11, 2011

    […] Atlas Shrugged Weekend 11 Dec As I mentioned in last Sunday’s post, December Is Here – Time To End 2011 With A Bang, it was my hope to complete my reading of Ayn Rand’s Atlas Shrugged.  I’m relatively […]

Leave a Reply

