Game Of Thrones – A Look At Tyrion


With all my recent talk of Leo Tolstoy’s Anna Karenina, I’ve been a bit remiss on my other read, George R.R. Martin’s A Game of Thrones.  The last couple of weeks I’ve been ahead with my reading with Anna Karenina and the read-along, that I picked up my Kindle and began reading A Game of Thrones again.

I’m fascinated with the story that Martin has put together here so far.  The characters aren’t paper-thin, and the approach on how a chapter is dedicated to each main character’s point of view.  I also have no idea if these chapters take place at the same time as the rest of the story in a chronological fashion.  And I don’t think I really want to know.  🙂

With that being said, I wanted to take a moment this evening to speak to one of the characters in the book that has really taken off with me.  That is the character of Tyrion Lannister.  For those who aren’t familiar with the book, Tyrion is a dwarf and something of an outcast with his family.  But that’s not why he intrigues me, it’s what he does and says that really intrigues me.  He’s so comfortable with who he is, and early on, doesn’t really seem to care what others think of him.

Another thing that really grabs my attention is the fact that he’s not a warrior, like 99% of the male characters in the book are at this point.  Tyrion is more of a scholar and bookworm than anything else, at least from what I can tell early on.  Since I’m a bookworm, I find that appealing to me.

The quote from Tyrion that really grabbed my attention is at location 2353 of the Kindle 4 book bundle:

I have a realistic grasp of my own strengths and weaknesses.  My mind is my weapon.  My brother has his sword, King Robert has his warhammer, and I have my mind … and a mind needs books as a sword needs a whetstone, if it is to keep its edge.  That’s why I read so much, Jon Snow.

Even though I’m only about half way through A Game of Thrones, I still haven’t made a determination if Tyrion Lannister is a friend or foe to the King and the Starks.  He very well may be as conniving as his brother Jaime and his sister Cersei the Queen, but I wouldn’t be surprised either way.  I’m looking forward to seeing the evolution of Tyrion’s character through this book and the other books in the series to find out!  If you’ve read A Game of Thrones and would like to let me know your thoughts on Tyrion, please feel free to do so.  I only ask that if you’ve read the books and/or have watched the HBO series, to not spoil anything about the storyline.  Thanks!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

8 Responses to “Game Of Thrones – A Look At Tyrion”

  1. Tyrion’s phenomenal. I can’t really say more without being spoiler, but trust me, you picked a great character to gravitate towards. He’s got one hell of a personality, and like you said, it’s really his total self-confidence that’s captivating. He’s got no particular illusions about what he is, but he doesn’t whine about it, even if it’s constantly hovering in the back of his mind. Not to mention he’s funny.

    • I see myself looking forward to the chapters on Tyrion. I just finished one where he outwitted Catelyn and her sister Lysa. He’s definitely got a lot of self-confidence!

  2. Tyrion’s my favorite character (my other fave is Daenerys Targaryen) – Peter Dinklage has done an outstanding job so far in his portrayal of Tyrion. I was worried a bit that Peter is a bit too handsome for Tyrion, but he got the character’s big personality down pat.

  3. Tyrion is one of the best characters in the entire series. His larger than life personality and sarcastic humor really makes the series great in my eyes.

    J.R.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Thoughts On Game Of Thrones « Beltwayliterature - December 13, 2011

    […] I mentioned in my post, Game of Thrones – A Look At Tyrion, I found him to be one of the most fascinating characters in Game of Thrones.  My thoughts […]

Leave a Reply

