Thanksgiving & Reading


I don’t know about you, but I’m shocked that Thanksgiving week is already here.  It just seems like yesterday it was the beginning of 2011.  I can’t begin to list the things I’m grateful this year, aside from a loving wife, but I’m truly grateful to her for agreeing to me fueling my reading habit this year.  Especially with some of the tomes I’ve read this year.

Thanksgiving is always a good time for me.  We usually end up spending it with family, but it also allows extra time for reading as it’s always a short work week for me, for which I’m grateful for each and every year.  This year, with five days off, I have that time for reading when I’m not visiting with family.

With those extra days this upcoming week, I plan on making more progress with Leo Tolstoy’s Anna Karenina which I’m participating in a read-along hosted by Wallace at Unputdownables.  My brother, sister, and I have recently begun reading and discussing Ayn Rand’s Atlas Shrugged.  I’m about 150 pages through that, and it’s pretty good so far.  I’m really enjoying the themes and issues discussed in the book thus far.

I’ve also been enjoying Anna Karenina.  Over the last six weeks I’ve been discussing my thoughts on Fridays.  The book has been interesting, and as I mentioned in previous posts, I really don’t think the story is story is about adultery.  It will be interesting to see how the rest of the book pans out.

Over the last week, my to be read pile grew by 18 books when my father lent me the rest of Patrick O’Brian’s Aubrey-Maturin series of books.  I’m grateful to him for lending me those books so I won’t have to get them from the library.  So I’ve definitely got books to read for the next several weeks.  That’s a pretty good thing so I won’t have to go to bookstores during the Christmas shopping season.

I hope everyone has a great Thanksgiving with family and friends.  I also hope there is plenty of time for reading.  What’s everyone reading this Thanksgiving holiday?

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

3 Responses to “Thanksgiving & Reading”

  1. I’m also reading Anna Karenina! Also Moby-Dick, Emerson and Thoreau. Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. If you enjoy reading Classics there are a lot of free ebooks to choose from. Which classic novel next, War and Peace? Or did you read that allready?

  3. Your holiday plans sound great! It’s always nice to have extra time to read, as well as spend moments with family and friends.

    Hope you enjoy your week!

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST and
    MY WEBSITE

Leave a Reply

