Reading Plans For The Remainder Of The Year


Good Morning!  I knows it’s been a few weeks since I posted on a Sunday morning.  I’ve had a pretty hectic last few weeks.  A part of me is in awe that we’re already in November.  It just seems like the year has gone by so quickly!  With there being only two months of the year remaining, I feel like it’s no time to slouch on completing those last books to be read to accomplish my reading goals for 2011.

The only remaining book for my initial 2011 goals is Ayn Rand’s Atlas Shrugged, and I’m hoping my brother, sister, and I can begin our reading of it this upcoming week.  Also, I am participating, until the end of the year, in a read-along of Leo Tolstoy’s Anna Karenina, and I’m posting my thoughts on the weekly reading here every Friday.  What’s interesting about this last part of the year, is that I’m reading multiple books at once.  I usually don’t do that, so I’m hoping to be able to read both at the same time.

If I can get those two books read by December 31, I will consider that a great accomplishment and feel like I’ve read what I set out to read this year.  I also have some material that I need to read on a weekly basis for a Lean Six Sigma course that my employer is offering.  It’s not exactly exhilarating reading, but it’s important for my career growth.

With the holiday season coming quickly upon us, I’m looking forward to some great reading and great times with family and friends!  What’s on the docket for your reading this week?

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

5 Responses to “Reading Plans For The Remainder Of The Year”

  1. I’ll be doing Anna Karenina and Shakespeare by Michael Cummings this week. After that Moby-Dick. It is CRAZY it’s already November!

  2. I’m always amazed at the “light” reading you choose for yourself. 😉 I wish I could tackle books like that. I had to put the Game of Thrones series aside for the time being…and maybe until next year, because it just seems too daunting. I like my reading, I guess, in bite-size pieces.

  3. I loved both of those books, but it’s been many, many—did I say many?—years since I read them.

    Hope you enjoy them.

    Thanks for visiting my Sunday Salon earlier.

  4. Reading both of those books is a great accomplishment! 🙂 I don’t have specific reading plans for the rest of the year. I have set aside December though as a complete impulse/spur-of-the-moment reading month. Just reading whatever I’m in the mood for, regardless of what I have on hold at the library, or review copies, etc. should be so much fun.

  5. I’m attempting to do Every Man Dies Alone and The Woman in White (plus keeping up with Anna Karenina) during the month of November. At least, I was as I now think I’ve bitten off more than I can chew. I probably will end up finishing Every Man in December after the semester is over.

Leave a Reply

