Anna Karenina Read-A-Long: Starting Post


Today, I decided, after becoming aware of a Anna Karenina Read-A-Long from Jillian at A Room of One’s Own, that I would go ahead and participate in my first online read-along.  Wallace at Unputdownables is hosting the read-along.  The read-along will run from now until the end of the year.  Now, I’ve read Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy before, but that was before I really started reading the classics, and I had a difficult time getting through it.  I own a copy of the Richard Pevear and Larissa Volokhonsky translation.  Here’s a summary taken from the book jacket:

Anna Karenina has beauty, social position, wealth, a husband, and an adored son, but her existence seems empty.  When she meets the dashing officer Count Vronsky she rejects her marriage and turns to him to fulfill her passionate nature-with devastating results.  One of the world’s greatest novels, Anna Karenina is both an immortal drama of personal conflict and social scandal and a vivid, richly textured panorama of nineteenth-century Russia.

While previous versions have softened the robust, and sometimes shocking, quality of Tolstoy’s writing, Richard Pevear and Larissa Volokhonsky have produced a magnificent translation that is true to his powerful voice.  This award-winning team’s authoritative edition also includes an illuminating introduction, a list of principal characters, suggestions for further reading, and full explanatory notes.

Beautiful, vigorous, and eminently readable, this Anna Karenina will be the definitive rendition for generations to come.

 

Here’s the schedule for the read-along with the postings:

READING SCHEDULE:

Week #/ dates :: Place in which to STOP

Week One/ Oct.7-13 :: Part 1 Chapter XX
Week Two/ Oct. 14-20 :: Part 2 Chapter VIII
Week Three/ Oct. 21-27 :: Part 2 Chapter XXIX
Week Four/ Oct. 28-Nov. 3 :: Part 3 Chapter XII
Week Five/Nov. 4-10 :: Part 3 Chapter XXXI
Week Six/ Nov. 11-17 :: Part 4 ch XVIII
Week Seven/ Nov. 18-24 :: Part 5 Chapter XV (please note: this is Thanksgiving! Might want to get ahead the previous week.)
Week Eight/ Nov. 25- Dec. 1 :: Part 6 Chapter I
Week Nine/ Dec.2-8 :: Part 6 Chapter XX
Week Ten/Dec.9-15 :: Part 7 Chapter VII
Week Eleven/Dec.16-22 :: Part 7 Chapter XXIX
Week Twelve/ Dec.23-30 :: Finish book! You made it!!  (please note this is Christmas week! Might want to get ahead the previous week.)

POSTING SCHEDULE:

Post #/ date post should be up on blog:

Start up Post/ Today!
Week One/ October 14th
Week Two/ October 21st
Week Three/ October 28th
Week Four/ November 4th
Week Five/ November 11th
Week Six/ November 18th
Week Seven/ November 25th
Week Eight/ December 2nd
Week Nine/ December 9th
Week Ten/December 16th
Week Eleven/ 23rd
Week Twelve/ 30th (Final Review)

I will work hard to have a post here every Friday on the reading.  If you’ve read Anna Karenina, I’d definitely love to hear what you thought of it!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

6 Responses to “Anna Karenina Read-A-Long: Starting Post”

  1. I’m participating too!
    I’m already up to chapter 6 I think…something like that. I’m having an easier time since i printed the bookmark that Wallace provided a link to!

    • Oh! I want the bookmark. I forgot about it… 🙂

    • I went ahead and printed out the bookmark at work this afternoon! I managed to make it through the first week’s reading. Still as difficult as it was when I read it several years ago! But I’m definitely enjoying it more so far!

  2. Yay, I’m glad you’re joining, Jeremy! Too bad we can’t compare our translations. 🙂

    • I’m hoping that I’ll be able to keep up with it, Jillian! I’m also doing a reading and discussion with my brother and sister on Atlas Shrugged. Plus, I’ve got two online classes that I’m taking for work, so I just hope I haven’t spread myself out too thin!

      I’ve read the Garnett translation of War and Peace so I have a pretty good idea of how she does translations. If I didn’t buy this version when it was brought to my mother’s attention, as she watched Oprah, I probably would’ve gone with the Garnett version.

      I’m just hoping it won’t be as painful and hard as the first go-around. I didn’t have very many classics under my belt back in 2004, and only one Russian classic read in Crime and Punishment. Now that I have many more classics read, and more Russian literature, including War and Peace, I’m hoping for a more enjoyable experience!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Anna Karenina Fridays: Part I Chapters I-XX | Beltwayliterature - October 14, 2011

    […] 14, 2011 by Jeremy 0 Comments As I mentioned in my Anna Karenina starting post, every Friday between now and the end of the year, I will be posting about Tolstoy’s work as […]

Leave a Reply

