A Week of Fun Reading


As I mentioned last week, I completed my reading of Karl Marx’s Capital.  This week, I resumed my reading of William Shirer’s The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich.  I must say, after completing such a challenging piece of work that Capital is, it’s certainly nice that I’m reading some “lighter” fare.

Reading Capital tried my patience and caused me to slow down my pace significantly.  It wasn’t by any stretch of the imagination, a very fun read.  I know that’s quite a shocker!  This week, I have read 300 pages of The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich, which, while chalk full of facts, is quite a fun read!

Taking into account my reading goals for the year, I’m feeling quite good about my prospects of not only completing The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich fairly soon, but also to complete my reading of Ayn Rand’s Atlas Shrugged before the close of the 2011 calendar year.

Speaking of fun reads, I’m truly looking forward to resuming Patrick O’Brian’s Aubrey-Maturin series, but I’m especially looking forward to beginning George R.R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire series, and get back into reading some more books of my favorite genre fantasy.

Right about now, I’m just glad that I’m enjoying reading significantly more now that I’m finished reading Capital.  And after doing some thinking, I’m probably not going to choose specific books to read for 2012 and just go with the flow and not be as structured with my reading as I’ve been this year.  While I’ve enjoyed my reading this year, it just hasn’t been as much fun as last year.  I’m sure most of that has to deal with the fact that I’ve read some pretty serious books this year.

Essentially, just wish for it to be more relaxing reads than being too overly serious.  Are you reading anything interesting this week?  I hope everyone has a fantastic week!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

3 Responses to “A Week of Fun Reading”

  1. My you have had some heavy reading. Your current read was one that I read for my degree. My current read is a book review on researching your ancestry in the Channel Islands.

  2. Okay, I cannot ever see myself reading or enjoying Capital or The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich…but I did love Atlas Shrugged. And The Fountainhead, too. I went through an Ayn Rand phase, as well as a Tolstoy and Dostoevsky phase…which I think I’ve mentioned!

    Enjoy!

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST and
    MY WEBSITE

  3. You have read some serious books this year! It’s good (IMHO) to have a mix of structure/goals and more whimsical/impromptu reading.

    Enjoy the rest of your 2011 reads, and whatever 2012 has in store for you.

Leave a Reply

