August Month In Review


As Summer is coming to an end, I hope my reading slump does as well.  I was hoping to get much more read with Karl Marx’s third volume of Capital, but other things have distracted me between family and other activities.

This week, I’ve managed to read around 200 pages of Capital, which is considerable progress for me considering the amount that I read for most of the month.  Earlier this week, I also had family in town, my aunt, uncle, and their significant others came by for a visit, so we entertained for an evening, which was a lot of fun.  My uncle seemed quite impressed with the idea that I was reading Capital and thought at some point we could have a nice debate about the topic.  It would definitely be interesting as he and I have diametrically opposite points of view on just about everything.  Because of that, he and I have pretty good debates on a variety of topics.

With September upon us, I’m setting a lofty goal of completing this final volume of Capital.  If my progress last week is any indication, I should be able to make considerable progress toward meeting that goal.  If I can manage to complete my reading of Capital this month, I have no doubt that I will accomplish my lofty 2011 goals list.

What have you been reading this past week?  Any interesting reading coming up this week/month?

 

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

5 Responses to “August Month In Review”

  1. My reading for the month of August decreased from previous months, but it wasn’t too bad. In my post, I share a link to my monthly wrap-up.

    Right now I’m enjoying a mystery by Lisa Unger.

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST and
    MY WEBSITE

  2. I used to love to get together with my extended family and talk books around the table. Miss that.

    Here’s my Sunday Salon!

    And it’s time for
    Readerbuzz’s September Giveaway!

    Stop by! I always follow back.

  3. Wow, you certainly drive yourself hard, don’t you? ‘Das Kapital’ isn’t light reading in anyone’s book. This year I’m reading only women writers because I realised I hardly ever do. One of my blog readers recommended the ourageous UK author Jilly Cooper’s early novel ‘Prudence’ and I’m really enjoying what I’m reading so far…

    • You’re right, it certainly isn’t light reading. Only this year have I been driving myself hard in the reading department. Das Kapital is the most complex work I’ve ever tackled. Prior to that it was Dante’s The Divine Comedy. I’ll have to take a look at Prudence and see if it’s something I might be interested in. If not for me, maybe my wife will have an interest in it! Thakns fro dropping by!

  4. I’m still impressed that you’re sticking with the Marx. I have an aversion to “chunksters” and…oh…Communists ;-). But seriously, I am impressed….as for what I’m reading, I’m continuing to read the Charlie Chan murder mystery series. Sadly, there were only six of them before the author, Earl Derr Biggers, died in 1933.

Leave a Reply

