While On The Running Trail….


This morning, I continued my training for the Army Ten-Miler by completing a 5 mile run this morning at a trail that circles Burke Lake Park.  The heat got to me this morning as I was running, but that’s not what this post is about.  While I was running the trail, earlier this morning, I got to thinking about some books that I might like to read as I’m getting closer to completing my reading goals for the year.  While running, it seemed like a good thing to keep my mind on, while I was punishing myself this morning.  🙂

I came to the realization that there are several books I wouldn’t mind tackling, of course, more fiction than anything else.  In particular, I’d like to continue reading Patrick O’Brian’s Aubrey/Maturin series.  I’ve already tackled two of them, Master and Commander  and Post Captain.  I’d also like to begin reading George R.R. Martin’s A Game of Thrones series.

Of course, I’d also like to keep up with reading some historical books and classics.  I’d love to read some more Jane Austen, Gone with the Wind, and of course John Adams and Unbroken.  These were but a few books that I was thinking about while I was running this morning.  I’m sure, during the course of the next month, while training, I’ll be thinking of many other books.

But back to some current reading, this week, I managed to complete the first part of Marx’s third volume of Capital.  It’s also beginning to look like that I’ll also be able to resume my reading of William Shirer’s The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich, as my brother has caught up.

While exercising, do you think of other books that you might like to read coming up?  I hope everyone has a fantastic upcoming week!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

10 Responses to “While On The Running Trail….”

  1. I don’t run these days, but while doing the exercise bike or visiting the gym, I do sometimes think about reading.

    When I do, I often think of books I once read and would like to read again. Recently I bought a copy of Gone with the Wind. The last time I read this, I was VERY young!

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST

    • This morning I was wishing I didn’t run with the humidity and heat causing me to huff and puff more than usual! I can’t wait for the race to come and be done!

      I’ve heard quite a bit about Gone with the Wind. I know I’ve seen the movie once or twice, but that was back when I was much younger. It’s one of my mother’s favorite movies. I’m definitely looking forward to tackling it! Thanks for dropping by!

  2. I’ve read the first Game of Thrones book. I really enjoyed it, but am holding off on the next until HBO makes the next season, because I so enjoyed watching the series unfold without knowing what would happen next. It’s hard to resist the urge, though.

    • I think my sister was watching the series and she told me she enjoyed it. We don’t have HBO, so I was unable to watch it. Although, once I read the book, and the set comes out on DVD, I’ll probably get it from Netflix. Thanks for dropping by!

  3. You should definitely read Unbroken! It’s such an inspirational story and a lot of hard work to overcome impossible situations, etc. Perfect if you’re pushing yourself physically. 🙂

    I jog on a treadmill in my house and love reading while I’m on there, so I’m usually thinking about whatever I’m reading at the moment.

    • I’ve heard Unbroken is a very good inspirational journey, and I can’t wait to read it! I must be strange, for whatever reason, exercise and reading doesn’t seem to work out very well for me! I find myself paying more attention to the book than exercising! Thanks for dropping by!

  4. Not as classic as your reads, but equally thoughtful, I believe, is Civility by Stephen L. Carter.

    I also loved Bowling Alone.

    Here’s my Sunday Salon for this week: Sunday Salon: I Wish I Were a Better Blogger. And don’t forget to sign up for the Readerbuzz August Giveaway!

  5. I’m not one for reading and exercising at the same time. I tried it once at the gym and just didn’t work for me. Music and exercise work for me, but not reading…I don’t even think I could focus on audiobooks, especially now since I’m so out of shape. I’d probably just focus on my breathing…that I am still doing it, that’d be a good thing. 😉

    As for the Game of Thrones series, I read the first one, and am holding off on the second one until I can get it from the library on my Nook. I’m about fourth on the list, so it will be a little while. That’s okay, though. I don’t mind waiting. It gives me something to look forward to.

  6. Yay Gone With the Wind and Jane Austen!! May I recommend Persuasion?

    I love thinking while jogging. I usually think of what I’m currently reading more than what I will read…

    I’m currently reading Vanity Fair and Sense and Sensibility, both of which are awesome. Also I just finished a biography on Mark Twain — highly recommended! 🙂

    Have a great week.

Leave a Reply

