Marx Revisited


Good Sunday Afternoon!  What a week for reading, or lack thereof!  Early last week, I mentioned that I’ve resumed my “Marx Reading Challenge.”  As I also mentioned, it is the final book of the challenge with me reading Capital Volume III.  Throughout the course of last week, I managed to get through around 150 pages of the book.  That progress includes the Introduction, Engels’ Preface, and the first two chapters.

As I mentioned an in post at the beginning of the year, which I talk about why I’m doing this challenge, it’s to challenge myself.  I can so, with much aplomb, that the third volume is definitely challenging so far.  Just the first two chapters, the first on Cost Price and Profit, and the second on The Rate of Profit, I’m in for another 1,000 pages of challenging reading.

While I’m definitely up for the challenge with this final volume of Capital, I’m definitely quite read to be finished with this challenge.  While I’m glad I’ve undertaken this project, and have learned a lot, it’s been ambitious, time-consuming, but enlightening at the same time.  I’ve definitely realized how important it is to have a strong economic background while tackling these works.  A background that I may have some serious holes in.

Aside from that tangent, since the third volume deals with how a capitalistic system could, theoretically, cause itself to fail/collapse, here’s what I’m looking to learn:  “Are any of those underlying factors that Marx speaks to, clearly visible during this economic downturn we’ve had the last few years?”  I’m hoping that with this volume, I’m going to learn how capitalism could collapse and to definitely learn what those warning signs are.

My expectation would be, albeit an unrealistic one, is for those details to be perfectly clear.  However, that wont’ be the case, it will be buried in challenging economic language.  But that’s ok, that’s part of what’s going to make this final book really good.  And when I complete this final volume, I’m going to feel pretty good about what I’ve accomplished, but mentally tired as well.  I think it will be quite some time before I undertake anything of this magnitude again soon.  I’m looking forward to getting back to some fictional reading and some lighter historical reading.

How do you feel when you complete challenging works?  What are you reading this week?

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

3 Responses to “Marx Revisited”

  1. You have taken on an ambitious task, which I do applaud….I can’t envision myself doing the same, though; at least not about the economy.

    It would be great to have a better understanding of it, but I’m afraid that it would only depress me more! I’ll stay tuned for your thoughts, though.

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST

  2. Good for you! I feel like I’ve challenged myself by trying to read War and Peace, but I can’t imagine trying to read a three-volume work on economic systems. I’m impressed!

  3. I think I would have a hard time reading this. Like you said, it requires knowledge in economics. I’ve taken 3 economics classes, and hated them all. Supply, demand, nonsense. Well, its not nonsense, but its not something that keeps my interest. Which, when you think about it, isn’t a good thing, because its really important….
    Anyway, kudos to you for getting through it and challenging yourself!

Leave a Reply

