Resumption Of Marx Reading Challenge


Over the weekend, I managed to complete my reading of two Janet Evanovich books, Four To Score and High Five, as part of an agreement with my sister.  I will post my thoughts on each of those books in the upcoming days.  With those books completed, and with me still waiting for my brother to catch up on our reading of The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich, I have decided it’s time to read the final book of my Marx Reading Challenge, Capital Volume III.

It’s been a couple of months since I completed the second volume of Capital, and a part of me wanted to wait another couple of weeks to resume the challenge, but I figured, instead of waiting, I just wanted to jump right into the thick of things again.  Of course, as I go through the book, I will be making various posts about my thoughts of the reading material, and any questions that I might have during my journey.

Here’s what the back of the book says:

Unfinished at the time of Marx’s death in 1883 and first published with a preface by Frederick Engels in 1894, the third volume of Das Kapital strives to combine the theories and concepts of the two previous volumes in order to prove conclusively that capitalism is inherently unworkable as a permanent system for society.  Here, Marx controversially asserts that – regardless of the efforts of individual capitalists, public authorities or even generous philanthropists – any market economy is inevitably doomed to endure a series of worsening, explosive crises leading finally to complete collapse.  But he also offers an inspirational and compelling prediction:  that the end of capitalism will culminate in the birth of a far greater form of society.

David Fernbach’s translation captures the clarity and brilliance of Marx’s original work.  The introduction, by Ernest Mandel, explores the position of the volume as part of the wider work, explains Marxist thought and considers its long term influence.

I’m looking forward to another intriguing and interesting read.  If you’ve read Capital Volume III, or any part of Capital, I’d love to hear your thoughts and have a discussion!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

