Month In Review & A Look Ahead


What a scorcher of a month this month of July has been!  You would think with how hot it’s been, that I would’ve gotten quite a bit more reading accomplished, since I needed to stay inside a good chunk of the month.  Nope, didn’t happen for whatever reason.  In July, I managed to get a bit more of William Shirer’s The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich read, but that’s pretty much in a holding pattern while I wait for my brother to catch up.  I also managed to complete Glenn Beck’s Broke, Janet Evanovich’s Two for the Dough and Patrick O’Brian’s Post Captain.

This month, I’m planning on reading Janet Evanovich’s Three to Get Deadly and Four to Score, as part of my agreement with my sister to read Ayn Rand’s Atlas Shrugged later on this summer/early fall.

Here’s something that I’m sure everyone is looking forward to….  The resumption/conclusion of my “Marx Reading Challenge.”  It is my hope, and desire, that I begin reading the final volume of Karl Marx’s Capital.  Upon completion, I will have completed my so-called “Marx Reading Challenge.”  If I also manage to complete my reading of Capital and The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich, I will only have one book left on my 2011 goals list, Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand.

It’s definitely been a busy summer so far of reading and spending time with family.  What have you been reading in July, and what do you have coming up?

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

2 Responses to “Month In Review & A Look Ahead”

  1. I have decided to wait until tomorrow to do my monthly wrap-up, since I might just finish one more book today! LOL

    It has been an okay month, but not my best. I’ve finished 14 books so far, and if I finish another, well…that will be better. I’ve enjoyed some books, though, like Jennifer Weiner’s new book Then Came You; or The Beach Trees by Karen White. I’ve mentioned these two, along with my reviews, on MY SUNDAY SALON POST

  2. I have been reading fairly light stuff, but due to the fact that I have been watching an insane amount of Mad Men and the weather hasn’t been conducive to reading, I haven’t read much. But I have read quite a bit of Sing You Home, which I plan on finishing this week, and have read a bunch of the third book of Harry Potter. I did finish House Arrest and The Tea Rose this past month.

Leave a Reply

