My Thoughts On Broke


This evening I completed my reading of Glenn Beck’s Broke.  In Broke Glenn talks about how bad our nation’s finances truly are and puts forward some very basic suggestions on how to fix it.  The first part of the book dealt with the history of our nation in finances, from the founding fathers to our current leaders.  After that section, Glenn went on to talk about symptoms of the problem and some ideas on how to tackle the problem.

Throughout the way, Glenn had sidebars of information, either facts from official government reports and/or quotes from leaders in history.  There were several things that I learned in this book that I didn’t realize.  For starters, that Andrew Jackson was truly the last president we had that paid off our national debt.  I also learned more about our mandatory spending programs and how they have the potential to sink our nation’s fiscal and national security.

Throughout the book, there were plenty of graphs and pictures to depict the dire financial situation of a great majority of the programs our nation chooses to fund.  One thing I definitely appreciate, is the fact that Glenn included all the citations and notes that he used throughout the book that he quoted from.  That makes it very easy for me to go and check some of the numbers for myself and draw my own conclusions.  I got the impression that Glenn didn’t want his readers to solely take him at his word.

The book wasn’t written in super complicated and technical economic/fiscal terms, but it was written with enough detail to successfully convey the message he was looking to get out:  That our Nation is broke, and we have a lot of work to do to right the situation.  Reading Broke at this particular time is very coincidental, considering the national debate going on right now about our nation’s debt ceiling.  So I definitely felt Broke had some applicability to what the news has been about the last couple of weeks.

I’m glad I took the opportunity to tackle Broke.  While I know that Glenn Beck is one of those types of people who you either like, or dislike, I really have no opinion either way.  I enjoyed getting some insight into the way Glenn thinks about the debt our nation is saddled with, and it really, in my mind, wasn’t very politically divisive at all.  Others would probably disagree with that sentiment.

Either way, I enjoyed the read, and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to learn more about our nation’s current issues with the national debt.

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

