Now Reading – Post Captain


It has been a few days since I’ve decided to start my next book after completing my reading of Janet Evanovich’s Two for the Dough.  I decided to take the weekend off and do a bit of relaxing.  Now that we’re at the beginning of the week, I’ve picked up the second book I checked out from the library a couple of weeks ago, Patrick O’Brian’s Post Captain.

Post Captain is the second book of the Aubrey/Maturin naval series written by Patrick O’Brian.  As I indicated in my review post of Master and Commander, I was looking forward to picking up the second book of the series to see if it is as good or better than the first.

It is my hope this book will tide me over while my brother catches up with our discussion on The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich.

I checked out the hardback version of the book from the library, and here’s what the inside cover states:

In 1803 Napoleon smashes the Peace of Amiens, and Captain Jack Aubrey, R.N., taking refuge in France from his creditors, is interned.  He escapes from France, from debtors’ prison, from a possible mutiny, and pursues his quarry straight into the mouth of a French-held harbor.  Stephen Maturin’s struggles, with himself as much as with a proud and intelligent woman, are woven into Aubrey’s, straining their friendship at times to the breaking point.

I’m looking forward to reading this second book and seeing what type of seafaring tale I’m in for.  If you’ve read Post Captain or any other of the Aubrey/Maturin books, please let me know!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

