An Oddity For Me – Book Series


Good Sunday Afternoon!  It’s definitely feeling like summer these days here in northern Virginia.  Earlier this week, as I was finishing my reading of Janet Evanovich’s Two for the Dough, I got to thinking about my most recent readings.  I came to a rather shocking discovery.  That the last few books I’ve read were part of a series of books!  Now, based on my reading history, reading serialized books isn’t something I’d normally do.

Let’s take a quick look at three of the last books I’ve read:

  • Janet Evanovich:  One for the Money and Two for the Dough (Stephanie Plum Series)
  • Patrick O’Brian:  Master and Commander, and coming up Post Captain (Aubrey/Maturin Series)

I’m not quite sure what has driven me to start reading these serializations.  As I’ve mentioned before, I’m reading the first five books of the Stephanie Plum series as part of an arrangement with my sister to read Atlas Shrugged with me, but the Aubrey/Maturin Series is coming as a surprise to me.  I didn’t think I’d enjoy Master and Commander as much as I have, and am giving it a second go by beginning Post Captain very soon.  Not sure if I’ll continue with the series, but we’ll see.

Taking a look at my reading history, I’ve really only read one other serial, and that has been Terry Brooks Shannara series.  I’m not sure why I haven’t really read to many book series.  Maybe it’s because I don’t want to devote the time to a long series, or maybe I just haven’t given these types of book series a real shot.  But I think one of the main culprits is the fact I’ve been concentrating a lot on classical literature and or historical reading.

Do you enjoy book series?  If so, which is your favorite?  I’d love to see what others enjoy here as I’m not too experienced with reading book series such as the ones I’ve discussed.

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

5 Responses to “An Oddity For Me – Book Series”

  1. I usually stay away from book series, but I do like the Body Farm series of books by Jefferson Bass.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

  2. Beyond the obvious Lord of the Rings, I’ve been enjoying crime series lately, including the Bones series by Kathy Reichs and the Harry Bosch series by Michael Connelly.. Other than that, right now my mind is going blank on series, although I know I read more than that…oh, wait, I did read the Harry Potter series earlier this year in anticipation of the final movie coming out this week.

    • I’ve, of course, have read Lord of the Rings as well, along with The Hobbit and I enjoyed them very much! I forgot to mention them in my post! And how could I forget Harry Potter! Sheesh, I must be starting to get old, forgetting some of the books I’ve read! 😀

      I haven’t read the Bones series by Kathy Reichs yet, but maybe I’ll pick one up later on down the road. I also haven’t read anything by Michael Connelly yet. BTW, thanks for the tweet earlier this afternoon!

  3. I have enjoyed some book series. I’ve only read a couple of Stephanie Plum books, but enjoyed them; I really love Sue Grafton’s series about the detective Lindsay Milhone; and I’ve also enjoyed the Jackson Brodie series written by Kate Atkinson.

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST

  4. I love book series. They make the question of “What do I read next?” so much easier, and they give authors pages and pages to truly develop characters. I love mystery series, and my husband is wading his way through the Aubrey/Maturin series.

Leave a Reply

