Midyear Review


Wow!  I can’t believe how we’re already halfway through the year!  Time certainly has flown so far in 2011.  In January, I feel I set a rather short, but ambitious reading list for 2011.  At this point in time, I’ve made significant progress on those books on my list.  As of right now, here are the books I’ve read for my 2011 goals:

  1. Karl Marx – Grundrisse
  2. Barack Obama – Dreams from my Father
  3. Barack Obama – The Audacity of Hope
  4. Karl Marx – Capital Volume I
  5. Jane Austen – Pride and Prejudice
  6. Bill O’Reilly – Pinheads and Patriots
  7. Karl Marx – Capital Volume II
  8. Anonymous – The Arabian Nights
  9. George W. Bush – Decision Points

I’ve also managed to read some books that weren’t included on my list for this year:

  1. David Harvey – A Companion to Marx’s Capital
  2. Steven Levitt & Stephen Dubner – Freakonomics
  3. Steven Levitt & Stephen Dubner – SuperFreakonomics
  4. Janet Evanovich – One for the Money
  5. Truman Capote – Breakfast at Tiffany’s and Other Stories
  6. Patrick O’Brian – Master and Commander

I only have a few books left from my goals list to read those are:

  1. William Shirer – The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich (in progress)
  2. Ayn Rand – Atlas Shrugged
  3. Glenn Beck – Broke
  4. Karl Marx – Capital Volume III

I know it doesn’t seem like a heck of a lot of books, but three of the four are tomes.  I’m counting on Marx’s third volume of Capital to take me at least a month to read.  I’m currently reading and discussing The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich with my brother, which is going rather well.  My sister will join my brother and I for a reading of Atlas Shrugged.  And once Broke becomes available in the library, I’ll be sure to pick it up.

If I manage to make it through the remaining books on my list for the year, that’s great, if not, that’s ok too!  I’ll just add them to next year’s list (if I make one), and move on.

How has your reading been going so far this year?  Are you on track?  What exciting reading would you like to take on for the second half of the year?

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

4 Responses to “Midyear Review”

  1. My reading hasn’t been going as well as I’d like, but then about 10 Do-Not-Finishes haven’t helped either. So all in all, I’m doing pretty well…and considering I’m getting slowed down by Netflix, Facebook and Twitter — and work. I don’t know if I’m “on track” and I don’t have anything exciting planned for the second half. We’ll see what comes along.

    I’m jealous of some of your reading, though, especially the Arabian Nights. I don’t remember reading your posts about that. What did you think?

    • I truly enjoyed reading The Arabian Nights. It was quite a fun read, and I’d recommend it to just about everyone. There’s nothing quite like reading a whole bunch of fun short stories.

      I’m finding, as Netflix is streaming more and more that I’m interested in watching, that as a distraction. Twitter is increasingly becoming another.

      Work, unfortunately, is a necessary distraction, but I suppose it beats the alternative. 🙂

  2. Wow, you have some weighty books on your list…and then there’s that Stephanie Plum book…LOL.

    I read Truman Capote’s In Cold Blood a few months ago…I’m curious about Breakfast at Tiffany’s…I did see the movie.

    Thanks for visiting my blog.

    • Yeah, that book broke it all up. LOL…. I’m currently reading Two for the Dough as part of my agreement with my sister.

      In True Blood is truly a great crime book that I really enjoyed very much. Breakfast at Tiffany’s isn’t anything like I expected it to be, but I enjoyed the story. I think you will too. Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

