It’s Official – I’m A Polygamous Reader


At least temporarily.  Usually, I read only one book at a time.  If I’m reading more than one book at a time, it reminds me back to how swamped I was during my undergraduate days at GW.  I felt then there was so much reading that I wasn’t able to devote the time required to each individual reading.  I eventually gave up trying to read everything as a result.  So pretty much since then, I’ve only read one book at a time.

That situation has changed, at least temporarily, while I’ve been reading William Shirer’s The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich with my brother.  We setup a Posterous group site to discuss our reading of the book.  Obviously, two different readers, two different reading paces.  In order to not get too far ahead of my brother, I’ve decided to pick up a second book to read at the same time, so as to keep up with the discussion pace.

About a week ago, I went to the local library and I managed to pick up a couple of books.  The first one that I picked up, and decided to read is Janet Evanovich’s Two for the DoughTwo for the Dough is the second book of the Stephanie Plum series.

As I indicated in my final thoughts post on One for the Money, I indicated that I would read the first few books of this series as a commitment to my sister as she’s committed to read Atlas Shrugged with my brother and I.  I feel that’s a fair trade.  🙂

I checked out the paperback version of Two for the Dough, and here’s what the back of the book says:

Bounty hunter Stephanie Plum is still learning the ropes at her cousin Vinnie’s bail bond office, so when she sets out on the trail of Kenny Mancuso – a suspiciously wealthy, working-class Trenton boy who has just shot his best friend – the stakes are higher than ever.  That Mancuso is distantly related to vice cop Joe Morelli – who is trying to beat Stephanie to the punch – only makes the hunt more thrilling….

Taking pointers from her bounty hunter pal, Ranger, and using her pistol-packing Grandma Mazur as a decoy, Stephanie is soon closing in on her mark.  But Morelli and his libido are worthy foes.  And a more sinister kind of enemy has made his first move…and his next move might be Stephanie’s last.

If you’ve read Two for the Dough, I’d love to hear what you thought!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

