Now Reading – The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich


After a brief break from reading for a day, I’m now ready to tackle my next book, William Shirer’s The Rise and Fall of the Third ReichThe Rise and Fall of the Third Reich is a book listed in my 2011 Goals for this year.  I will be reading and discussing this book with my brother, the first book that we’ll be discussing together.  I’m looking forward to discussing some good history with them while we both learn some about Germany’s Third Reich.  I’m reading the paperback version of the book, and here’s what the back of the book says:

Since its publication in 1960, William L. Shirer’s monumental study of Hitler’s empire has been widely acclaimed as the definitive record of the twentieth century’s blackest hours.  The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich offers an unparalleled and thrillingly told examination of how Adolf Hitler nearly succeeded in conquering the world.  With millions of copies in print around the globe, it has attained the status of a vital and enduring classic.

I’m truly looking forward to reading some hard-core history and having a lively discussion with my brother.  Having studied history at The George Washington University for my undergraduate program, it will be a great feeling to read more German history.  It should be a lot of fun and a great learning experience!  If you’ve read The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich I’d love to hear your thoughts on this account of Nazi Germany.

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

One Response to “Now Reading – The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich”

  1. Curious on this one! How fun that you’re reading with you brother. 😀

Leave a Reply

