My Thoughts On Master & Commander


Earlier today, during my lunch break, I managed to complete my reading of Patrick O’Brian’s Master and Commander.  Hands down, Master and Commander has to be one of the better fictional books I’ve read in quite some time (outside of my classics reading).  🙂

The story was wonderful, the character development fantastic, and the action was phenomenal.  I couldn’t believe how great the story was, and don’t even get me started on the narration!  I found the descriptions of the sea conditions, boats, the time period, to be absolutely wonderful.  With these descriptions, I could totally imagine myself in that time period seeing and interacting with the characters.

In Master and Commander you see the foundations being built of a wonderful friendship between Aubrey and Maturin.  At first, they don’t seem to connect, and then things start to go up from there.  I hope to see more of this relationship develop in future books, which I plan on reading very soon in the near future.

The only complaint I had about the book was most likely due to my naiveté.  Specifically, my naiveté to naval/sea terms.  While there was a diagram at the beginning of the book indicating certain areas of the ship, there were additional terms that I didn’t know beforehand that I was forced to look up.  Terms such as coxswain and boatswain.  But once I looked these terms up, it became a bit easier for me to get a handle on these nautical terms.  I still have quite a ways to go, but I think once I get a few more books of this series under my belt, I won’t have anything to worry about.

My only regret is that it took me so long to actually pick this book up off my shelf and begin reading it!  It’s been sitting there for several years collecting dust!  I’m definitely looking forward to continuing my adventure with this series and picking up Post Captain not too terribly long in the future!  I definitely recommend this book for anyone looking for a wonderful naval adventure!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

2 Responses to “My Thoughts On Master & Commander”

  1. I saw the movie. I remember liking it, but I don’t remember the movie itself which is typical for me.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Now Reading – Post Captain | Beltwayliterature - July 11, 2011

    […] Aubrey/Maturin naval series written by Patrick O’Brian.  As I indicated in my review post of Master and Commander, I was looking forward to picking up the second book of the series to see if it is as good or […]

Leave a Reply

