Reading Groups


For as long as I can remember since I left school, I’ve pretty much read books solo.  One of the primary reasons for reading books without the benefit of a discussion partner is the fact that not too many people seem to be overly interested in reading whatever I’m reading at that particular moment in time.

Recently, however, that situation has taken a turn for the better for me.  As I mentioned in my previous post about reading Master and Commander, my brother will be reading William Shirer’s The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich with me.  Of course, I’m looking forward to having someone to discuss some World War II era German history with, and I think it will be a great deal of fun.

But that isn’t the only book that I’ll be reading as a group with.  I also managed to talk my sister into reading Ayn Rand’s Atlas Shrugged with my brother and I.  I know having a group to read Atlas Shrugged with will definitely make reading it a more rewarding experience.

I do have a couple of concerns, of course, about reading as a group.  Such as do we setup a reading/discussion schedule, especially with people who read at different paces, and may/may not have as much free time.  What venue shall the discussion take place, email, blog, phone, etc.  These  are all things I’ve been considering while waiting to read The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich.  I’m sure it’s something that my brother and I will discuss prior to beginning our reading of the book.  As I’m sure my sister will want to talk about too when we read Atlas Shrugged.

More than anything else, I’m just looking forward to the fact that I’m going to have someone else to discuss a book with.  It will definitely be nice to have someone to bounce thoughts and ideas off for two books I’ve been wanting to read for quite some time now.  Especially with my brother, as we haven’t done anything like discuss a book together before.  🙂

Do you prefer reading books on an individual basis, or do you sometimes like to do so in groups?  I’d love to hear your thoughts on it!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

3 Responses to “Reading Groups”

  1. I usually do read solo, and then blog about my reading. Once upon a time I was in a book club that met to discuss the book once a week.

    That can be satisfying if the group is the kind in which lively discussion can occur.

    Hope you find something that works for you.

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST

  2. I love reading solo or with a group — though I’m usually looking more for group enthusiasm that I am discussion — mostly because I like to form my own conclusion, rather than be swayed by others’ perspectives — at first.

    I think reading with people on a second read, with discussion, would suit me better.

    But, I read with folks often in the blogosphere, for the purpose of cheering. (Which is all any of us have time for, lol.) 🙂

  3. I usually do read solo, but I do enjoy reading with a group; depends on the situation.

Leave a Reply

