Now Reading – Master and Commander


My initial plan, after completing President Bush’s Decision Points, was to dive right into William Shirer’s The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich; however, last weekend, something unexpected occurred.  My brother mentioned he was very interested in reading The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich with me.  I couldn’t help but delay a bit, as I could have a reading/discussion partner for a book.  I thought it might be fun, and enhance my reading experience significantly.  My brother asked me to hold off beginning my reading until he completed his current read, and I agreed.

With a slight delay on hand, I decided to peruse my bookcase to take a look at what I haven’t read yet on my bookshelf.  After perusing the shelves, I came across a shorter in length fictional novel by Patrick O’Brian entitled Master and Commander.  I featured Master and Commander back in February as a book I owned but haven’t yet read.  I was also looking for something that would not be very time-consuming, so the other books listed with my 2011 goals were definitely out.  Master and Commander fits the criteria for what I’m looking for to read for the next few days.

I own a paperback version of the book, and here’s what the back of the book says:

It is the dawn of the nineteenth century; Britain is at war with Napoleon’s France.  Jack Aubrey, a young lieutenant in Nelson’s navy, is promoted to command of the H.M.S. Sophie, an old, slow brig unlikely to make his fortune.  But Captain Aubrey is a brave and gifted seaman, his thirst for adventure and victory immense.  With the aid of his friend Stephen Maturin, ship’s surgeon and secret intelligence agent, Aubrey and his crew engage in one thrilling battle after another, their journey culminating in a stunning clash with a mighty Spanish frigate against whose guns and manpower the tiny Sophie is hopelessly outmatched.

I’m looking forward to reading this book, and then upon my completion of Master and Commander, I will see about renting the movie, which I also haven’t seen, and see how faithful the movie was to the book.

If you’ve read Master and Commander, I’d love to hear what you thought of it!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

2 Responses to “Now Reading – Master and Commander”

  1. This book sounds really interesting. I’m curious about the time period.

    Have fun! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Reading Groups | Beltwayliterature - June 12, 2011

    […] has taken a turn for the better for me.  As I mentioned in my previous post about reading Master and Commander, my brother will be reading William Shirer’s The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich with me.  […]

Leave a Reply

