First Impressions – Decision Points


I’m about 50% through President Bush’s Decision Points on my Kindle.  I’ve found the President’s writing to be succinct and to the point.  So far he has been very forthcoming with details on the major decisions he felt he made early on in life, and during his presidency.  From quitting drinking, his decision on stem cell research, Afghanistan, Iraq, etc.

I was especially taken aback by how open he was on his decision for waterboarding.  I know this decision has been particularly controversial, and I’m sure it was a very difficult decision for him to ultimately make, but I was definitely surprised with how open he was about the decision and the parameters of the decision.

I’ve also learned quite a bit about the president’s decision-making process for both Afghanistan and Iraq.  While I know that any decision to take military action is a complicated one, I definitely wasn’t aware of how complex such a decision is, and all the ramifications, which the president went at length to discuss.  I applaud him for his openness and candor in these matters.

The book definitely reads quite easily, and the President doesn’t throw any punches, he’s clear, succinct, and to the point.  It definitely doesn’t read like a political book, but more along the avenue of a story being told.  I’m definitely learning a lot about the President and these issues from his vantage point instead of from a media outlet.  I’m hoping the rest of Decision Points is written in a similar fashion.

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

3 Responses to “First Impressions – Decision Points”

  1. This has been on my list for a while. Can’t wait to get to it! Thanks for your post

    • As I’ve been working my way through the book, I’ve noticed the detail nor writing style have changed. While I know there are several different opinions about President Bush, I’ve enjoyed his perspective on the issues.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Thoughts On Decision Points | Beltwayliterature - June 7, 2011

    […] evening, I completed my reading of President Bush’s Decision Points.  As I mentioned in my first impressions post, I was very much impressed with the President’s candor with all the issues he discussed in […]

Leave a Reply

