Now Reading – Decision Points


Today I’m getting back on track with a book listed in my 2011 Goals, by tackling President George W. Bush’s Decision Points.  I’m very happy to be tackling this book on my brand new Amazon Kindle e-reader device!  I finally took the plunge, and that will be a post later on.  🙂

I know President Bush’s Administration has been the subject of much criticism, and I realize members of the media and others haven’t been very kind to him.  While I try not to comment on political matters on this blog, I definitely like to be well informed of current or recent events, based on my interest in history.  So I’m pretty excited to be reading the President’s book, with the hope of gaining more insight into his thinking processes while he was serving in the White House.

As I mentioned, I’m reading the Kindle version of this book, and here’s the book description courtesy of the Kindle version:

President George W. Bush describes the critical decisions of his presidency and personal life.

Decision Points is the extraordinary memoir of America’s 43rd president.  Shattering the conventions of political autobiography, George W. Bush offers a strikingly candid journey through the defining decisions of his life.

In gripping, never-before-heard detail. President Bush brings readers inside the Texas Governor’s Mansion on the night of the hotly contested 2000 election; aboard Air Force One on 9/11, in the hours after America’s most devastating attack since Pearl Harbor; at the head of the table in the Situation Room in the moments before launching the war in Iraq; and behind the Oval Office desk for his historic and controversial decisions on the financial crisis, Hurricane Katrina, Afghanistan, Iran, and other issues that have shaped the first decade of the 21st century.

President Bush writes honestly and directly about his flaws and mistakes, as well as his accomplishments reforming education, treating HIV/AIDS in Africa, and safeguarding the country amid chilling warnings of additional terrorist attacks.  He also offers intimate new details on his decision to quit drinking, discovery of faith, and relationship with his family.

A groundbreaking new brand of memoir, Decision Points will captivate supporters, surprise critics, and change perspectives on one of the most consequential eras in American history – and the man at the center of events.

I’m looking forward to a very interesting read and to gathering more insights on President Bush.  If you’ve read Decision Points, I’d love to hear what you thought of it!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

