My Thoughts On Breakfast At Tiffany’s


During lunch today at work I completed my reading of Truman Capote’s Breakfast At Tiffany’s.  In the first 20 pages or so of Breakfast At Tiffany’s, I knew I would like this particular short novel.  I found the characters to be interesting, in particular the Holly Golightly character.  I found her to be definitely an adventurous soul, along with almost a carefree attitude.  That carefree attitude was definitely on display when she seemed to very easily move between love interests, and how she really wasn’t concerned when she got into legal trouble.  I would be very interested in seeing how well the character is portrayed on screen, and I’m definitely looking forward to when we get the movie from Netflix.  As soon as I see it, I’m sure I’ll post again about Breakfast At Tiffany’s.

I can also see why Capote found Holly Golightly to be such a fantastic character for him.  She’s written so well, and she’s so interesting.  I found that I definitely cared what happened with Holly.  I definitely really enjoyed Breakfast At Tiffany’s; however, I really didn’t enjoy the other stories as much included in this book.  Those stories were “House of Flowers,” “A Diamond Guitar,” and “A Christmas Memory.”  Out of those three particular stories, I enjoyed “A Christmas Memory” the most, and it was quite sad.  The other two stories didn’t really pique my interest.

If you’re interested in reading Breakfast At Tiffany’s, I would definitely recommend reading the short novel in this edition, but I don’t think you’d necessarily be missing too much if you passed on the other three short stories in this book.  If you’ve read any of the stories in this book, I’d love to hear your thoughts!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

