My Thoughts On One for the Money


Late yesterday, I completed my reading of Janet Evanovich’s One for the Money.  I was surprised at how quick of a read this book was for me.  This book, and its pace, reminded me of when I read Dan Brown’s The Lost Symbol last year at this time.  Kinda reminds me of a book that you’d read for an airplane trip, but something I’m glad I didn’t end up buying as it probably isn’t something I’d end up reading again.

I found Stephanie Plum to be quite anxious to jump into situations with very little thought for her own personal safety.  I found her character to be quite reckless most of the time throughout the book.  While she knew exactly what she was wanting, she wasn’t sure how to accomplish those goals, hence, her reckless behavior.  From encouraging a person who was a known batterer of women, to outright theft, Stephanie used all those tools to accomplish her goals.

Aside from that, I didn’t find myself to be really attached to any of the characters, but that doesn’t mean I didn’t enjoy the book.  I found the book to be quite a fun read, a good book to get my summer reading season off to a good start.  As I mentioned in my original post that I was reading the book, my sister recommended One for the Money, thinking I would enjoy the book.  Well, I did enjoy it, but it wasn’t a fantastic book for me.

I did make a commitment to my sister to read the first four or five of the Stephanie Plum novels in exchange for her to read a book with me.  So I will continue reading a few more books of the series, but I’m definitely looking forward to the prospect of reading Atlas Shrugged with my sister, and hopefully we’ll be able to have a great discussion about Ayn Rand’s book later on in the summer.

Overall, I would recommend this book to anyone who’s killing some time on the beach, or a quick vacation read.

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

2 Responses to “My Thoughts On One for the Money”

  1. Yeah, I usually read a Stephanie Plum book after a heavy read. The audioboooks are great for driving. Actually I was laughing so hard at one of the audiobooks I nearly crashed.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. It’s Official – I’m A Polygamous Reader | Beltwayliterature - June 29, 2011

    […] I indicated in my final thoughts post on One for the Money, I indicated that I would read the first few books of this series as a commitment to my sister as […]

Leave a Reply

