Short Story Sunday


In honor of my current reading adventure The Arabian Nights, this beautiful Sunday afternoon, I want to speak a little about how much I’m enjoying my current read.

I wasn’t quite sure what to expect when I originally decided to tackle The Arabian Nights.  One thing I was expecting was kind of a layout similar to Grimm’s Fairy Tales.  Individual stories with a definite start and end.  That layout is definitely not the case here with this book.  Arabian Nights seems to be a continuous narrative by the storyteller Scheherazade.  Each story, thus far, seems to have some relevance to the next, as if they’re all interconnected.

I can definitely understand why the stories would be setup in this fashion.  Scheherazade is running a continuing narrative in order to keep her husband, the Sultan, from killing her the next morning, so it would only make sense for her storytelling to utilize this form of storytelling, in order to keep her alive.

Now, I must say, I haven’t been much of a short story reader in my time.  I’m more into novels and that sort of thing.  Now, granted, I’ve read other short story books, such as The Complete Sherlock Holmes and tales by Edgar Allan Poe.  But I haven’t ever read anything like The Arabian Nights before.

So far, the stories have been filled with suspense and mystique.  I’ve been enjoying the mix of morals, and of course, genies, interwoven into the stories.  I’m definitely seeing how genies can be out-thought when necessary, and how they only seem to appear when something has gone drastically wrong for any particular main character.

So far, the format of The Arabian Nights has me hooked in a way I didn’t think possible.  I haven’t enjoyed short stories such as these since I was a kid.  Good stories, a beautiful day, not much can make the day better than that!

Are there days where you feel like short stories are better than novels?

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

7 Responses to “Short Story Sunday”

  1. These do sound like captivating stories…thanks for sharing.

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST

  2. The Arabian Nights is a book I’ve always wanted to read. Like you, I thought it consisted of a lot of short stories. Thank you for sharing a little about it!

  3. I’ve never read Arabian Nights. Its one of those things that I know I need to read and I want to read.
    And there are times that I like short stories more. I read Welcome to the Monkey House by Kurt Vonnegut and I loved it, and that was short stories. But I do agree with you, I’m more of a novel person myself. :]

  4. I don’t think about Arabian Nights too often. I don’t think I even knew it was a story collection. Don’t know what I though it was.

    The Sunday Salon @ The Scarlet Letter

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. First Impressions – The Arabian Nights | Beltwayliterature - May 25, 2011

    […] week ago today, I began my journey with The Arabian Nights.  As I mentioned in my post, Short Story Sunday, I had just begun enjoying the short stories in this book.  A few days later, I’m just as […]

Leave a Reply

