Capital Volume II – A Difficult Part


Have you ever reached a point in a book where you feel it’s so difficult that you feel like hitting your head against the wall?  That’s exactly how I’m feeling at this juncture in my reading of Karl Marx’s Capital Volume II.  I’m currently on Chapter 15 Effect of Circulation Time on the Magnitude of the Capital Advanced.

The concepts have reached the point where not only do I wish to bang my head on the wall, but I also feel myself pulling at my hair a bit.  It’s been quite some time where I’ve been this frustrated with a book.  While I knew, when I undertook my “Marx Reading Challenge” there would be some difficult sections, I didn’t expect to hit this type of wall.  The only other time I felt I might’ve hit a wall was when I was about half-way through Grundrisse but this wall feels much worse.

I definitely recall, while reading the introduction to this second volume, that this volume was probably the most difficult of the three.  I’m really starting to see why at this point.  So deep in theory, so complex.  However, I will not let this wall stop me from completing my reading of Capital Volume II.  I’m just going to hunker down and get more determined to get through this wall.  This wall will just help me appreciate this work even more because it took so much to get my head wrapped around it.

I’m still looking forward to, and enjoying, for the most part, the challenge that Capital is presenting.  Have you ever hit a wall while reading a difficult work?

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

2 Responses to “Capital Volume II – A Difficult Part”

  1. I actually did that with the last of the lords of rings trilogy. For some reason I don’t even remember where I stopped but I diffculties reading the last book and I threw it across the room and never picked it up again. To me Tolkien did have quite overly descriptive.

    • There are some parts of the Lord of the Rings trilogy that are slow. Especially in Return of the King. I’m glad I was able to finish it, but there were some parts that were tough.

      I’m hoping that I can find that extra motivation to get through this difficult part of Marx. 🙂

Leave a Reply

