Mothers and Reading


Happy Mother’s Day to all the moms out there!  On this beautiful Mother’s Day, I can’t help but think back to how my own mom influenced my reading habits over the years.  Mom was always there, taking my siblings and myself to the library when we wanted to go, encouraging us with our reading choices, and never really vetoing anything we wished to read, as long as it was within reason, of course!

Mom instilled reading on us very early in life, whether it was the little Mr and Mrs books, Curious George, or much later on in life to Lord of the Rings.  One thing’s for sure, mom definitely would’ve much rather had us reading than playing video/computer games all day long when we weren’t outside playing.

I remember being little and being able to read for about half an hour after our bedtime, all because mom wanted us to be well-read children.  Those habit, once formed, carry on throughout life.  To this day, I still read in the evening before bed time, as a matter of fact, I try to read as much as I can.  Mom still does too, on her iPad, or Sony E-reader.

Mom wanted us to also have a broad reading background.  She just didn’t want us to read fiction, she also wanted us to read some non-fiction, biographies, even different type of fiction.  She didn’t want us to be limited to just science-fiction or mystery novels.

My reading habit is just one of many things I’m thankful of my mom today.  Thanks mom for the support and the emphasis on reading…  🙂

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

2 Responses to “Mothers and Reading”

  1. Yes, those reading habits develop early. I’m so glad for the gift of loving books. I don’t see that habit developing as much in younger people. Except, of course, in the ones on book blogs! Yay for all of them!

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST

  2. That great that you were taught to read so early and kept at it. My brother is not a big reader but my hubby is more like me and was raised into reading books like you said your mother did as well ..In fact my husband name comes from the Hobbit, Thorin, so you know we are eager to see the film when *crosses fingers* it gets done.

Leave a Reply

